About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use Accuracy & Fairness Corrections & Clarifications Ethics Code Your Ad Choices
© MEAWW All rights reserved

Mamamoo's Wheein 'Whee': Release date, music video and about her 2nd solo album

Wheein channels her inner Alice in Wonderland for the title track 'Make Me Happy'
Wheein is all set to drop her first album with her new label THE L1VE (@THEL1VE_LABEL/Twitter)
Wheein is all set to drop her first album with her new label THE L1VE (@THEL1VE_LABEL/Twitter)

After Hwasa’s successful ‘Guilty Pleasure’ and Moonbyul announcing her comeback with ‘Lunatic’, we have Wheein being the next Mamamoo member to drop a solo release with ‘Whee’. While Wheein had her solo debut in 2021 with ‘Water Color’, a fun retro-pop song, this is her first solo comeback under a new label. When Mamamoo’s contract with their label RBW ended, all the members renewed their contracts except her. Fans were excited for Wheein as she began her new solo journey after signing a contract with VIXX Ravi’s new label THE L1VE.

Idol turned CEO Ravi has two labels – GROOVL1N and THE L1VE. His first label was for R&B and hip hop artists that he helped become mainstream and popular with his hands-on management and well-orchestrated promotions. After signing on soloist Ailee and Wheein to THE L1VE which is more of a K-pop agency, fans are excited to see what the new label has in store for them. Following the glitzy and jazzy release of Ailee’s ‘Don’t Teach Me’ and her festive collab with Wheein, Mamamoo fans are eager for Wheein to drop her second album and first release with THE L1VE – ‘Whee’.

ONEUS announces US leg of world tour 2022, fans upset as 2 members injured

Moonbyul the next Mamamoo member to return solo, drops teaser for '6ix'


Release date

Mamamoo’s Wheein is set to release ‘Whee’ on January 16 at 6 pm KST (4 am ET).

Where to listen

The second mini-album will be available on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more.



1. ‘Make Me Happy’ - Title track
2. ‘Pink Cloud’
3. ‘Letter Filled With Light’
4. ‘Deserve (Interlude)’
5. ‘Pastel’
6. ‘Paraglide’


Full of piano melodies that complement Wheein’s heavenly vocals, ‘Make Me Happy’ is an upbeat R&B pop song with a haunting hook that has the listener putting the song on repeat. The arrangement takes a backseat with simple instrumentals as ‘Make Me Happy’ lets Wheein show off her vocal abilities. It is written by THE L1VE CEO – VIXX’s Ravi. ‘Letter Filled With Light’ is written by Wheein and co-composed by Ravi. He has also participated in the making of ‘Deserve (Interlude)’ and the writing of ‘Pastel’.



THE L1VE has gone all out for Wheein’s comeback. We got vibrant coming soon posters and four sets of concept photos. In the first concept, the Mamamoo member sports colorful makeup and is surrounded by neon lights and butterfly props that create a dreamy atmosphere. In the next concept, we see a more mature look for the idol, who is dressed in a chic black and white outfit. In the next two concept photos, we see Wheein in a lonely mood showcasing a subtle white but fantastical look as she poses in a field with mirrors.


Music video teasers

Wheein also dropped two music video teasers for ‘Make Me Happy’. The dark teasers create a luminous feel with a fantasy storyline as Wheein sports pearl body art. Going for an 'Alice in Wonderland' theme, she is seen holding a mysterious purple liquid in a glass bottle before a dark rabbit hole suddenly appears where she was sitting moments ago. The next teaser is a contrast as Wheein shows off her fresh and youthful charms in a pastel-colored mansion, and is surrounded by flowers.

Watch the teasers below: