MAMA 2021: Release date, nominees, and where to watch the ceremony live

The year-end awards show announces nominees for all 17 categories of which only one will be a fan-voted title, unlike previous years


                            MAMA 2021: Release date, nominees, and where to watch the ceremony live
Mnet announces all their nominees for their year-end awards show (Mnet K-pop)
ADVERTISEMENT

The Mnet Asian Music Awards (famously known as MAMA) is one of the biggest South Korean music award ceremonies, presented annually by Mnet. Over the past few years, the ceremony has been loved by fans globally, all thanks to the growth of K-pop industry that owes its all to Hallyu. Since the awards show will follow an online event format this year, changes have been made to the voting and judging criteria to pick winners.

ADVERTISEMENT

Mnet announced that MAMA 2021 will have singer, public personality, and TV presenter Lee Hyori as the host for their year-end ceremony. It is reported that MAMA 2021 will have ‘Make Some Noise’ as their tagline while Lee Hyori, who is known for her unique personality, is the perfect MC for such an event. The ceremony announced their nominees for the year-end event with a total of 17 titles and only one fan-voted category.

ADVERTISEMENT

READ MORE

2021 MAMA nominations: Fans of snubbed K-pop acts like GOT7, Chungha say 'fck mnet'

Wanna One reunion in talks before MAMA 2021, fans say 'MNET is using band for clout'

ADVERTISEMENT



 

Air Date

The 2021 Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA) will air on Saturday, December 11 at  2021 with Red Carpet at 4 pm KST (2 am ET) and the awards ceremony starting at 6 pm KST (4 am ET).

ADVERTISEMENT

Where to Watch

Mnet's Asian Music Awards can be watched on Mnet's YouTube channel, Mnet TV in a live broadcast. 

The red carpet for the ceremony is live now -


ADVERTISEMENT


 

 

Watch the 2021 MAMA which will be broadcast live here -



 

Venue

The ceremony will be held at CJ ENM Contents World in Paju, South Korea and will be broadcast for fans globally.

ADVERTISEMENT

Award Categories and Nominees for Fan-Voted Category

For their 2021 ceremony, Mnet has announced a total of 17 categories.

1. Artist of the Year

2. Song of the Year

3. Worldwide Fans’ Choice (Only Fan voted category)

The nominees for the only fan-voted category are as follows.

(G)I-DLE
Aespa
AKMU
Ash Island
Astro
Ateez
Blackpink’s Lisa
Blackpink’s Rose
Brave Girls
BTS
Chungha
CL
Davichi
Enhypen
EXO
Formis_9
Heize
HyunA
iKON
ITZY
IU
Jannabi
Jessi
Kang Daniel
Lee Mujin
Lee Seung-gi
Loona
Mamamoo
Mino
Monsta X
NCT 127
NCT Dream
NU’EST
Oh My Girl
Rain
Red Velvet
Seventeen
SF9
SHINee
Somi
StayC
Stray Kids
Sunmi
Super Junior
Taeyeon
The Boyz
Treasure
Twice
TXT
Weeekly

ADVERTISEMENT



 

4. Best New Male Artist


ADVERTISEMENT


 

5. Best New Female Artist



 

6. Best Male Group


ADVERTISEMENT


 

7. Best Female Group



 

8. Best Male Artist


ADVERTISEMENT


 

9. Best Female Artist



 

10. Best Dance Performance Solo


ADVERTISEMENT


 

11. Best Dance Performance Group (Male)



 

12. Best Dance Performance Group (Female)

ADVERTISEMENT



 

13. Best Vocal Performance


ADVERTISEMENT


 

14. Best Band Performance



 

15. Best Hip Hop & Urban Music


ADVERTISEMENT


 

16. Best Collaboration



 

17. Best OST


ADVERTISEMENT


 

Fan Voting

This time around the voting for MAMA has been drastically changed. Veering away from having multiple fan-voted categories, this time around, MAMA announced only one fan-voted category — ‘Worldwide Fans’ Choice Top 10’. Winners for the rest of the categories like Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, and Album of the Year awards will not be chosen by fans alone, but they will have some say in who the final winners are.

Voting will take place online on Mnet’s official MAMA website starting November 4 at 6 pm KST (5 am ET) and will end on November 22 at 5:00 pm KST (4 am ET).

ADVERTISEMENT