CL 'Alpha': Release date, tracklist and all about first studio album by K-pop icon

CL 'Alpha': Release date, tracklist and all about first studio album by K-pop icon
CL's first-ever studion album on October 20 which will feature 11 tracks (@chaelincl/Instagram)

CL, the former member of 2NE1, a group under YG Entertainment, is known for much more than just her appearance on the group. With many second-generation popular idols dwindling into anonymity, CL has broken the pattern and dominates the K-pop industry as the 'Queen of K-pop'. CL first began her solo career in 2015 with the album ‘Hello Bitches’, which is regarded as a breakthrough album and which made her the most influential figures to help spread the Hallyu (Korean Wave).


CL has been well known all thanks to her experimentation across music styles as well as her live performances. In the year 2021, CL made her MET Gala debut wearing an Alexander Wang outfit, making her one of two Korean artists to make an appearance on the red carpet. Following multiple pre-releases from her upcoming album, CL will soon release her first-ever full-length album ‘Alpha’, produced by her own label Very Cherry. The album has 11 songs, making it her first full-length work as a solo artist since her career debut in 2007.



CL joins superstars Beyonce and Adele at UK's Satellite 414

Top K-pop releases in October: With IU, CL, bugAboo and Secret Number female acts rule



Release date

CL’s first studio album ‘Alpha’ will be released on October 20 at 1 pm KST (12 am ET).


How to listen

The studio album from CL will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn, and more.




1. 'Spicy'

2. 'Lover Like Me'

3. 'Chuck'

4. 'Xai'

5. 'Let It'

6. 'Tie a Cherry'

7. 'Paradise'

8. 'My Way'

9. 'Siren'

10. 'Hwa'

11. '5 Star'

CL pre-released four out of the 11 tracks from her upcoming album as singles. The songs ‘Spicy’, ‘Hwa’ and ‘5 Star’ have been released over the last few months while CL recently released the track ‘Lover Like Me’ to promote her upcoming album. It is reported that alongside working with many international artists, CL herself has worked on the writing of all of the songs on her album.


CL dropped the tracklist for her album, 'Alpha' which features 11 tracks in total (@chaelinCL/Twitter)


The album is being identified as CL's return to the global stage. The pre-released singles had many critics call her songs ‘sassy kiss-off’, a ‘declaration of independence’ as well as an ‘identity peace song’. In the concept photos released for her album, CL embodies a fierce self which she says will convey multiple meanings to her fans and the general audience that receives the songs. In the most recent concepts photos released for the album, CL exudes a menacing charisma with bold and edgy makeup while she donned a black wig and goth outfits while rocking a fishnet headgear.


CL releases concept photos for her first studio album, 'ALPHA' which will release on October 20 (@chaelincl/Instagram)


In the teaser CL released for her album, a lot of alarms are heard blaring in the background as a silhouette of CL is seen standing in front of what looks like a volcano erupting.  


Watch the teaser below:



Share this article:

 CL 'Alpha': Release, tracklist, and all about this studio album by the second-gen icon