Kanye West drops much anticipated new album, simply titled 'ye': Stream

The highly awaited follow up to 2016's 'The Life of Pablo' features guests appearances from Nicki Minaj, Kid Cudi, John Legend, Ty Dolla Sign, Jeremih, Young Thug & Charlie Wilson.

                            Kanye West drops much anticipated new album, simply titled 'ye': Stream
Kanye West (Source : Getty Images)

Today, the first day of June is a big day for music releases. Perhaps the biggest one of the day though, is Kanye West's highly anticipated eighth studio album, which we now know is simply titled 'ye'. Although I should note that calling it an album might be a bit of stretch considering the fact that the bare 7-minute effort clocks in at just 23 minutes. Maybe NIN's Trent Reznor would have a word or two to say about this!

Kanye premiered the album during a listening event in Jackson Hole, Wyoming on Thursday night, and the album is already whipping up quite a storm.

The Guardian has rated the album 4 stars out of 5, and it won't be long before other tastemaking publications like Pitchfork and Stereogum follow suit. Spin magazine says that "despite the prevailing claustrophobic and slightly demented feeling 'ye' sustains, it is still a Kanye West album, and so it is full of sample-dominated beats and, as always, there’s a hefty list of featured artists."

Indeed, the album sees guests appearances from Nicki Minaj, Kid Cudi, John Legend, Ty Dolla Sign, Jeremih, Young Thug, Charlie Wilson and a very confused, but very excited Kevin Parker, who apparently unknowingly contributed to the production of the album.

The album’s artwork features a photograph of Wyoming mountains along with the text, “I hate being Bi-Polar. it’s awesome.” According to Kim-Kardashian West, Kanye took the photograph on his iPhone on the way to the listening party. Considering Kanye recently shelled out $85,000 on the album art of Pusha T's recent release 'Daytona', this move seems like the most Kanye thing ever!

'ye' follows 2016’s 'The Life of Pablo'. It’s also the second in a series of five Kanye-produced albums that began last week with Pusha-T’s DAYTONA and continues next week with Kanye and Kid Cudi’s collaborative album, 'Kids See Ghosts.'

Thanks to Spin, we have an annotated version of the tracklist for the album, providing some interesting tid-bits of information. Check out the annotated tracklist below:

1. 'I Thought About Killing You' is co-produced and written with Benny Blanco and Francis and the Lights.

2. 'Yikes' includes additional writing credits for Kenyan musician Ayub Ogada and collaborator James Mbarack Achieng, possibly related to a sample.

3. 'All Mine' appears to feature Valee & Ty Dolla $ign and is co-produced and written with Francis and the Lights.

4. 'Wouldn’t Leave' apparently features PARTYNEXTDOOR, Jeremih & Ty Dolla $ign. (’50s preacher Reverend W.A. Donaldson credited on Tidal as a co-writer; his 1959 “Baptizing Scene” recording was previously used on Jay-Z and Kanye’s “Niggas in Paris”).

5. 'No Mistakes' apparently features Kid Cudi and Charlie Wilson. It also includes a sample of Slick Rick’s 1988 track “Hey Young World,” additional production and songwriting by Che Pope, and a composition credit to the late gospel singer and composer Edwin Hawkins.

6. 'Ghost Town' apparently features John Legend, 070 Shake, and Kid Cudi (and is co-produced with Benny Blanco and Francis and the Lights). It also carries a writing credit for ’60s singer and arranger Trade Martin, possibly related to a sample and a possible use of some of Kevin Parker's samples which he sent over to Kanye.

6. 'Violent Crimes' features Nicki Minaj (via voicemail) and also seems to feature Dej Loaf and Ty Dolla $ign.