About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use Accuracy & Fairness Corrections & Clarifications Ethics Code Your Ad Choices
© MEAWW All rights reserved

Pusha-T previews new album 'Daytona', produced by Kanye West

The previewed snippets also included a guess verse from Kanye on the track 'What Would Meek Do?'. The album, titled 'DAYTONA' is slated for a May 25 release
UPDATED JAN 29, 2020
Pusha T (Source : Getty Images)
Pusha T (Source : Getty Images)

Pusha-T has divulged new details on his Kanye West-produced new album. The abum is officially titled 'DAYTONA' and it’s out this Friday, May 25 via G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam, reports Pitchfork.

The seven-track effort includes a guest verse from Kanye on a song called 'What Would Meek Do?' There’s also a feature from Rick Ross ('Hard Piano'). Pusha's album is the first in a series of records to be produced by Kanye West and released over the next five weeks. 

On Wednesday night (May 23), Pusha-T previewed snippets from the album, including Kanye’s guest verse at what appears to be a listening event.

The album was previously titled, King Push, but Pusha changed its name “because I felt it didn’t represent the overall message of this body of work. Daytona represents the fact that I have the luxury of time. That luxury only comes when u have a skill set that your confident in,” he explained via Twitter.

DAYTONA is Pusha-T’s follow-up to 2015’s 'King Push – Darkest Before Dawn: The Prelude', and there's good reason as to why it took so long for the album to emerge. 

Kanye West reportedly scrapped Push’s LP several times to get it right. “I done this album like three times,” Push said last September. “[Kanye] come in and pick all the beats and shit and then he’d scrap them and say, ‘I can do better.’ These past two months we’ve just been locking in... getting this album perfect for y’all.”

The new album also brings another noticeable change. As Pitchfork confirms, Pusha-T has formally added the hyphen back to his name for the first time since his days in Clipse.

Like other projects that Kanye has worked on, the finishing touches on Daytona are coming down to the wire. Pusha said the final master was turned in earlier this afternoon and he doesn’t yet have the artwork. 

As Pusha explained, Kanye called him up yesterday to tell him “he wasn’t feeling” the original artwork. Instead, Kanye wanted to go with an unidentified photo that cost $85,000 to license.

“This is what people need to see to go along with this music,” Kanye told Pusha before offering to pay for it himself. Pusha-T also said there will be no single from the new album; “What are those? I’m not interested in any of that...” he tweeted.

Find the tracklist of DAYTONA below:

1. If You Know You Know
2. The Games We Play
3. Hard Piano [ft. Rick Ross]
4. Come Back Baby
5. Santeria
6. What Would Meek Do? [ft. Kanye West]
7. Infrared

Pusha also took to Twitter to leave a long string of comments about the soon-to-drop album.