Halsey drops surprise EP 'Collabs' featuring guest stars Suga from BTS, Alanis Morissette, Marshmello and more

Halsey's 6-track 'Collabs' features remixes and previously released singles with artistes Juice WRLD, Alanis Morissette, Suga of BTS, Dominic Fike and Marshmello

                            Halsey drops surprise EP 'Collabs' featuring guest stars Suga from BTS, Alanis Morissette, Marshmello and more
Halsey (Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

Halsey has surprise-dropped a special new EP on July 30, titled 'Collabs', and you guessed it, it features a compilation of tracks with special guest artistes. The 25-year-old 'Is There Somewhere' singer took to her Twitter to announce the new EP's release. "Just something the label did so all those songs are in one place! like a playlist!" she began her tweet, adding, "idk man haha I was like 'oh word cool!'"



With a generous total for an EP of six tracks, 'Collabs' features artistes such as Juice WRLD, Suga of K-pop titans BTS, Alanis Morissette, Marshmello and Dominic Fike, who have all joined Halsey on previously released singles or songs that featured on her new album 'Manic'. See the entire list below.

The EP gets three tracks that have appeared on Halsey's 'Manic' LP, such as Dominic Fike's collaboration 'Dominic's Interlude', the Suga-featured song 'SUGA's Interlude', and the Alanis Morissette collab 'Alanis Interlude'.

The last three are songs that were previously released as separate singles including the Juice WRLD remix version of her 2018 track 'Without Me', the honorary Juice WRLD collab 'Life's a Mess', and the recent Halsey track 'Be Kind' which is a joint effort with DJ and producer Marshmello that arrived on May 1, 2020. Halsey's song with country singer Kelsea Ballerini titled 'The Other Girl' is the only collaborative effort by Halsey that did not make it into her 'Collabs' EP.

The label that Halsey referred to in her tweet is Capitol Records, which is a US record label owned by Universal Music Group through its Capitol Music Group imprint. It was founded as the first west coast-based record label of note in the United States. Artistes who have appeared on their roster other than Halsey have included  Megadeth, Paul McCartney, the Beach Boys, Katy Perry, Mary J Blige, the Beastie Boys, Juice Newton, Neil Diamond, Niall Horan Eagles, Beck, Avenged Sevenfold, Don Henley, Yellowcard, Sam Smith, Migos and many more. Along with many single releases in 2020, one of the latest studio albums to be released by Capitol Records this year is Niall Horan's 'Heartbreak Weather'.

Halsey's third and most recent studio album 'Manic' arrived in January 2020 through Capitol Records. Halsey handled production herself (the first time she has done so on an LP) as well as with her frequent and new collaborators such as Benny Blanco, Cashmere Cat, FINNEAS, Greg Kurstin, Jon Bellion, Lido, and Louis Bell among others.

The album was a commercial success and received wide acclaim from critics and fans alike. With sales of 239,000 total units in the first week of its release, 'Manic' debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 albums chart, marking her third top-two album on the chart and her biggest album debut to date. The LP was also certified Platinum by the RIAA, becoming the first album released in 2020 to achieve this. 

'Collabs' tracklist

1. 'Dominic's Interlude' featuring Dominic Fike

2. 'SUGA's Interlude' featuring BTS' Suga

3. 'Alanis' Interlude' featuring Alanis Morissette

4. 'Without Me' featuring Juice WRLD

5. 'Life's A Mess' featuring Juice WRLD

6. 'Be Kind' featuring Marshmello

If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515