Contestants announced for new celebrity specials of 'The Crystal Maze' hosted by Richard Ayoade

The upcoming celebrity special episodes of 'The Crystal Maze' is set to include some very recognizable names

                            Contestants announced for new celebrity specials of 'The Crystal Maze' hosted by Richard Ayoade
Richard Ayoade (Source: Getty Images)

'The Crystal Maze,' which originally aired over six series and five Christmas specials between 1990 and 1995 was rebooted by Channel 4 in 2016 and has since been hosted by 'The IT Crowd' star Richard Ayoade.

The show is set to return next month with all-new celebrity specials with Ayoade returning as host.

Featuring teams of contestants as they take on a range of challenges set within a labyrinth consisting of four time zones, Aztec, Medieval, Futuristic and Industrial, the latest season will boast of 30 brand new games as they strive to collect as many crystals as possible.

Richard Ayoade will be returning to host (Tristan Fewings/Getty Images for The Moet British Independent Film Awards)

These crystals then determine how much time each team is allotted inside the iconic Crystal Dome, where they have to work together to collect a certain amount of gold tokens to win a prize. This year's celebrity special is set to kick off in June on Channel 4 and will feature some easily recognizable faces.

One of the much-awaited specials will be 'Derry Girls' themed. Cast members of the British sitcom, Jamie-Lee O'Donnell, Louisa Harland, Nicola Coughlan, and Dylan Llewellyn, are all set to appear and will be led by team captain Saoirse Monica Jackson. 

Another episode will feature eight-time Paralympic medalist David Weir, former-England international and English Premier League footballer Wayne Bridge, Countdown's Rachel Riley, and reality star Charlotte Crosby tackling the legendary maze while captained by tennis ambassador Judy Murray.

TV personality and author Katie Price joins Happy Mondays’ maracas shaker Bez, presenter and DJ Roman Kemp, and Made in Chelsea’s Binky Felstead will try out their luck and aim for the maximum reward under the leadership of England midfielder Dennis Wise.

Also featuring in the specials are double MC Big Narstie, actress Jorgie Porter, internet superstar Alfie Deyes and long jumper Greg Rutherford led by double Olympic champ Dame Kelly Holmes, and comedian Joe Wilkinson, Blue Peter’s Radzi Chinyanganya, broadcaster Kate Garraway and Pussycat Dolls star Ashley Roberts will take on the maze captained by broadcasting legend Richard Madeley.