Korean Music Awards 2022: Airdate, where to watch, nominees and all about the event

Korean Music Awards 2022: Airdate, where to watch, nominees and all about the event
BTS, IU, AKMU, and aespa have been nominated for the Korean Music Awards (@bts_bighit, _IUofficial, aespa_official/Twitter, @akmuchanhk/Instagram)

With the year-end K-pop award shows gradually coming to an end, we have the prestigious Korean Music Awards as the final award show. While the other commercial events rely on judges and fan votes to award talented, as well as popular artists, the Korean Music Awards prides on acknowledging artists simply based on their talent.

The 19th Korean Music Awards is being hosted by the Korea Popular Music Awards and is sponsored by the likes of the Ministry of Culture and Korea Creative Content Agency. They honor popular K-pop idols and groups as well as non-mainstream artists and bands of other genres. The jury consists of members who are artists, music critics, representatives of their genres, and more. And they have nominated artists of all fields from the likes of BTS and aespa to Lang Lee and The Volunteers.



2022 K-pop comebacks: BTOB, StayC, Oh My Girl, NCT Dream and more will keep fans busy

GOT7's Yugyeom plans 1st solo tour in Germany, fans say 'that's so random'


Lang Lee (Korean Music Awards website)

Airdate and time

The 19th Korean Music Awards will air on March 1 at 6 pm KST (4 am ET).

Where to watch

The 2022 edition of the Korean Music Awards will be held online and live-streamed on Korean Music Awards’ YouTube channel.


Lee Mujin (Korean Music Awards website)


Award nominations

The nominations are divided by overall categories and genre categories.

Album of the Year
AKMU - ‘Next Episode’
Kim Hyun-chul - ‘City Breeze & Love Song’
IU - ‘Lilac’
Lang Lee - ‘There Is A Wolf’
Cheon Yongseong - ‘Drowned’

Song of the Year
aespa - ‘Next Level’
BTS - ‘Butter’
Lang Lee - ‘There Is A Wolf’
Lee Mujin - ‘Traffic Light’

Musician of the Year
Kim Hyun-chul
The Volunteers
Lang Lee


The Volunteers (Korean Music Awards website)


Rookie of the Year
Lee Mujin

Best K-pop Song
BTS - ‘Butter’
TXT - ‘0X1=Lovesong’ ft Seori
aespa - ‘Next Level’
Weeekly - ‘After School’

Best K-pop Album
Boa - ‘Better’
CL - ‘Alpha’
SHINee - ‘Atlantis’
Chungha - ‘Querencia’
aespa - ‘Savage’



Best R&B and Soul Song
Hiko - ‘After Time’ ft George
THAMA - ‘Blessed’ ft GSoul
Yura - ‘Mimi’
Lee Hi - ‘Head, Shoulder, Knee, Feet’ ft Wonstein
Sumin and Slom - ‘A difficult song’

Best R&B and Soul Album
Download (Dvwn) - ‘It’s not your fault’
Sumin and Slom - ‘Miniseries’
Mind Combined - ‘Circle’
Thama - ‘Don’t Die Colors’
Sogumm - ‘Precious’
Judd - ‘AMP’

Best Pop Song
IU - ‘Lilac’
Lee Seunghwan and Seonwoo Jungah - ‘How’
Red Velvet’s Wendy - ‘When this rain stops’
Lee Mujin - ‘Traffic Light’




Best Pop Album
IU - ‘Lilac’
Kim Hyun-chul - ‘City Breeze & Love Song’
Lee Ion - ‘Fragile’
AKMU - ‘Next Episode’
Stop ceremony - ‘Night driving’

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Song
Dunmills - ‘The Great Life’ ft Northfacegawd and Uneducated Kid
Bill Stax - ‘420 Flow’ ft Lobonabeat!
Loss - ‘Blue Lemonade’ ft Hwaji
Changmo - ‘Taeji’
SINCE - ‘Spring Rain’ ft Rakon

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Album
Unofficialboyy and Haifhaif - ‘Net trap, waiting for launch, capture’
Changmo - ‘Underground Rockstar’
Mild beats - ‘Fragment’
Loss - ‘Skandalouz’
Choi Lb - ‘Independent Music’


Wabi King (Korean Music Awards website)


Best Rock Song
Wabi King - ‘Rock & Roll’ ft Shun Young
Radio operator - ‘Lie’
Noise emission - ‘Dance’
Badlamb - ‘Moment at noon’

Best Rock Album
Radio Operator - ‘Aeons of Psy-Key’
Noise emission - ‘Joy, flower’
Atom Music Heart - ‘Refugeeism’
Trap - ‘Trap’
Outside - ‘Chilga Sal’

Best Modern Rock Song
Kim Geun-dol - ‘Let’s dance on the rainy street’
Black leaves - ‘Book, hello!’
The Volunteers - ‘Let Me Go!’
Trap - ‘One corner’
More wings - ‘Twenty’
Silica Gel - ‘Desert Eagle’



Best Modern Rock Album
Bosu-dong cooler - ‘Sand’
More wings - ‘Boundary between hope and despair’
The Volunteers - ‘The Volunteers’
Yang Chang-geun - ‘Wave’
Jannabi - ‘Land of Fantasy’

Best Folk Song
Lang Lee - ‘The Generation of Tribulation’
Cheon Yongseong - ‘Barley Tea’ ft Kang Mal-geum
Jang Pil-soon - ‘Petrico’
Lang Lee - ‘There Is A Wolf’
Lee Jooyoung - ‘It’s Snowing’ ft Lee Arip

Best Folk Album
Lang Lee - ‘There Is A Wolf’
All tickets - ‘Cosmos’
Jang Pil-soon - ‘Petrico’
Lee Jooyoung - ‘Ballade’
Cheon Yong-seong - ‘Drowned’

Best Metal and Hardcore Album
Slant - ‘1st house’
Crux - ‘Who Defines What’s Divine’
AMBROXIAK - ‘Detritus of Elysian Creation’
Hammering - ‘Libera Me’
Agnes - ‘Hegemony Shift’
Spit on my tomb - ‘Necrosis’


Maria Kim (Korean Music Awards website)


Best Jazz - Vocal Album
Golden Swing Band - ‘Golden Rules’
Lee Booyoung - ‘Love, like a song’
Kim Joo-hwan - ‘My Funny Valentine’
Korea Jazz Guard - ‘We all started in a jazz club’
Maria Kim - ‘With Strings: Dream of You’

Best Jazz - Performed Album
Lee Jiyeon - ‘Blue Flower’
Lee Yong-seok - ‘The New Old One’
Lee Jihye Orchestra - ‘Daring Mind’
Nam Yoo-sun - ‘Things we lost and found’
New box circle - 'Pseudo science’

Best Electronic Song
Sun Moon - ‘Tom’
Jellyfish - Go to Gyeongpodae’
Kirara - ‘HRT’
‘Doil city’ - ‘Forest Illumination’
Company - ‘Song of Hope Baby’

Best Electronic Album
Net Gala - ‘Shin Wave’
Jellyfish - ‘Born by gorgeousness’
Haihm - ‘Nowhere’
Tuning - ‘Earwitness’
Lee Soo-ho - ‘Monika’


Share this article:  19th Korean Music Awards 2022 Airdate where to watch nominees bts aespa shinee iu akmu boa txt stayc