Stray Kids ‘NOEASY’: Release date, concept and all about the Deadpool-style comeback

Stray Kids dropped a traditional music video teaser for their latest single 'Thunderous' as they get ready to release their second studio album


                            Stray Kids ‘NOEASY’: Release date, concept and all about the Deadpool-style comeback
Stray Kids for 'NOEASY' (@Stray_Kids/Twitter)

Stray Kids are ready to drop their second studio album ‘NOEASY’ with the lead single ‘Thunderous’ which has a fun, Deadpool-style music video. The group has been flying high ever since their win on the survival show ‘Kingdom’. And as a prize, we are getting a reality show titled ‘Stray Kids: Kingdom Week’ which has been airing since August 17. It will be airing on Mnet’s Youtube channel at 5:30 pm KST (4:30 am ET) daily till August 22, right in time for the album.

Their first studio album was ‘Go Live’ with the iconic lead single ‘God’s Menu’. It is their first platinum album with more than 436k sales. It also topped Gaon and was in the top 5 in Billboard charts. It also topped iTunes in more than 23 countries including USA. Not to be outdone, ‘NOEASY’ already has 830k pre-orders according to Naver and might make it the group’s first million-selling album.

READ MORE
Jeongyeon on hiatus, fans hope she recorded TWICE’s first English single ‘The Feels’ in advance

Stray Kids unveils track ‘Domino’ from album ‘NOEASY’, fans welcome glittery teaser

Stray Kids for 'NOEASY' (@Stray_Kids/Twitter)

Release date

Stray Kids’ ‘NOEASY’ will be released on August 23 at 6 pm KST (5 am ET).

How to listen

The album will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more.

Schedule

August 22 - Twitter Q&A Party with Stray Kids at 10 pm KST (9 am ET)
August 23 - Comeback Show on Mnet at 7 pm KST (6 am ET), 'DAY6 Kiss The Radio'
August 24 - ‘Choi Hwa-jung’s Power Time’ at 1 pm KST (12 am ET)
August 25 - Weekly Idol at 8 pm KST (7 am ET)
August 26 - ‘M Countdown’ at 5 pm KST (4 am ET)
August 27 - ‘Music Bank’ at 4 pm KST (3 am ET)

Stray Kids' tracklist 'NOEASY' (@Stray_Kids/Twitter)

Tracklist

1. ‘CHEESE’
2. ‘THUNDEROUS’ - Title track
3. ‘DOMINO’ 
4. ‘SSICK’
5. ‘The View’
6. ‘Sorry, I Love You’
7. ‘Silent Cry’
8. ‘Secret Secret’
9. ‘Star Lost’
10. ‘Red Lights’
11. ‘Surfin’’
12. ‘Gone Away’
13. ‘WOLFGANG’
14. ‘Mixtape: OH’

Before the news of the album, we were regaled with several pre-releases. Stray Kids, in fact, won the survival show ‘Kingdom’ with the finale song ‘WOLFGANG’. They also got their first #1 on Billboard with ‘Mixtape: OH’.

Chan played a snippet of Changbin’s song ‘Sorry, I Love You’ during a VLive with him and Han. ‘Red Lights’ is a sub-unit song made by Chan and Hyunjin. ‘Surfin’’ is another sub-unit track made by Lee Know, Changbin and Felix while ‘Gone Away’ is with Han, Seungmin and I.N. Han also participated in the making of ‘Secret Secret’. 3RACHA (Chan, Han, Changbin) participated in the making of the rest of the 9 songs including the title track ‘Thunderous’.

Stray Kids for 'NOEASY' (@Stray_Kids/Twitter)

Concept 

The group released three sets of concept photos to give us a glimpse into what to expect from the album and the music video. In the first concept, we see each of the boys sport different fashion styles from sporty to avant-garde but all in the color red. In the second concept, the boys are dressed in casual pastels surrounded by neon light props. The last concept is similar to the oriental style that we saw during the Back Door era with the boys pulling of darkcore outfits in front of a traditional Korean Hanok.

Stray Kids for 'NOEASY' (@Stray_Kids/Twitter)

Teasers

Stray Kids first released a fun, meta fourth-wall breaking trailer for ‘Thunderous’ as they team up in an apocalyptic setting to fight the ‘No Sound’ monster’. Tying in with the super-hero-style trailer, the music video teaser also shows the boys waiting for the ‘No Sound’ monster in front of the Hanok. With a flash of lightning, we see blue light as they get ready for the fight. Fans even theorized that the blue light could be guardian angels or Goblins of Korean mythology. In the second music video teaser we get the hook full of grand orchestra instruments and smooth choreography.

Watch the music video teasers below.



 



 



 

 

Along with the music video teasers, the group released mini music video teasers for almost all of the b-side tracks. 
‘CHEESE’



 

‘Red Lights’



 

‘Gone Away’



 

‘Surfin’’



 

‘DOMINO’



 

‘Sorry, I Love You’



 

‘Secret Secret’



 

'Fast & Furious'

Fans usually do not like JYPE’s teasers since they spoil the chorus or the highlight of the group’s music video. However, Stays were impressed with the teaser of ‘Thunderous’, “BREAKING NEWS: JYP Entertainment didn’t spoil how the entire title track sounds like.” Pointing out the vintage sports cars in the teaser a fan joked, “FAST & FURIOUS: KOREA DRIFT.” Another fan added, ”THE CINEMATOGRAPHY IS EO FRICKING COOL IM IN LOVE.”

Some also noticed the call back to their last single ‘Back Door’, “Obviously, backdoor means door that guides u to your past life. not just showing who exactly u r but also who are u before u became right now.” One commented, “SKZ SERVING US TOP-TIER VISUALS.” Stays also loved the way the boys combine traditional style and dance with noise genre, "Stray kids owns this style !" Another joked, "The sound monster after stray kids finished performing." An excited fan commented, "My hands and feet are shaking, what is this, son?"



 



 



 



 



 



 



 



 

If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515