NCT 2021: Title track 'Universe' subunit announced, Mark credited for writing 54 songs

Fans find it hilarious that the eldest, Doyoung will have to take care of the rest of the members in the 'Universe (Let's Play Ball)' subunit

                            NCT 2021: Title track 'Universe' subunit announced, Mark credited for writing 54 songs
There are 21 members for the NCT 2021 Universe comeback (@NCTsmtown/Twitter)

We are finally getting more and more information on the much-awaited NCT 2021 comeback. With 23 members and counting, fans look forward to the full group comebacks as it allows their favorite subunit members to interact with each other. NCT 2021 Universe happens to be their third group comeback following NCT 2018 Empathy and NCT 2020 Resonance. For this year’s group comeback we have 21 members as Winwin is shooting a drama in China while Lucas is on hiatus. 

For NCT’s third group comeback, they’re releasing the album ‘Universe’ on December 14. We first got a poster that hinted at a sci-fi concept following group teasers with 21 members. Dressed in shades of blue, the members are in robotic settings with the words ‘new axis’ on some of their faces that fans think is a spoiler for a subunit. SM has also released video teasers titled ‘The 7th Sense’ and ‘Synchronization of Dreams’ with some of the members that again have NCTzens (the fandom) making fan theories.

NCT and WayV fans side with alleged ex-girlfriends, trend 'Lucas Out' on Twitter

#ProtectLucas: Internet divided as fans keep defending NCT idol over gaslighting claims

NCT announces the first sub-unit for 'Universe' (@NCTsmtown/Twitter)

'Universe' tracklist announced

While we get one main track with all of the NCT members, the other songs in the full group albums are performed by subunits so that all of the members get equal lines and screen time. It has been reported that there are 13 tracks in the album 'Universe'.

1. ‘New Axis’
2. ‘Universe (Let’s Play Ball)’ - Title track
3. ‘Earthquake’
4. ‘OK!’
5. ‘Birthday Party’
6. ‘Know Now’
7. ‘Dreaming’
8. ‘Round&Round’
9. ‘Miracle’
10. ‘Vroom’
11. ‘Sweet Dream’
12. ‘Good Night’
13. ‘Beautiful’ - Title track

NCT’s online store accidentally leaked "confidential but inaccurate information" about which subunits would be performing which tracks that has fans wondering if it’s true or not. If it is, NCT 127 will be performing ‘Earthquake’, NCT Dream’s track is ‘Dreaming’ and WayV’s track is ‘Miracle’. But it has been confirmed that ‘Universe (Let’s Play Ball)’ and ‘Beautiful’ are the two title tracks of the album. ‘Beautiful’ is a pop ballad where the rap parts are written by Johnny, Taeyong, Mark, Hendery and Jeno. While fans think that all 21 members will be performing ‘Beautiful’, we have a confirmed sub-unit for ‘Universe (Let’s Play Ball)’.

Doyoung, Jungwoo, Mark, Xiaojun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Yangyang and Shotaro are in the 'Universe' sub-unit (@NCTsmtown/Twitter)


Doyoung, Jungwoo, Mark, Xiaojun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Yangyang and Shotaro will be performing ‘Universe (Let’s Play Ball)’. It is an R&B dance song with hip-hop elements. At the same time, it was reported that member Mark Lee had participated in the making of the rap for the track. This makes him the NCT member with the most songwriting credits as he has now participated in the writing of 54 songs.

'Doyoung and his babies'

Excited fans have been making tweets like, “The main protagonism-ification of mark lee,” and “Mark lee… 54 songwriting credits… his solo album is long overdue.” Another fan was impressed, “Mark lee, the most credited songwriter in nct with 54 songwriting credits under his name and the more to come at the age of 22.” Fans also trended Doyoung as he is the eldest member of the ‘Universe’ sub-unit. One fan shared, “Good luck and godspeed to doyoung in what surely will be an interesting time with 5/6 of 00, 2/3 of 99, and jungwoo.” Another posted, “Omg Universe unit??? Doyoung and his babies?????” One NCTzen made a reaction meme, “Doyoung and universe unit members.”







If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515