Electronic act Houses of Heaven announce debut album 'Silent Places' and unveil brooding new song 'Sleep'

Electronic act Houses of Heaven announce debut album 'Silent Places' and unveil brooding new song 'Sleep'
Houses of Heaven (Source: Courtesy of the artiste)

Oakland-based three-piece dance/electronic music act Houses of Heaven will release their debut full-length album titled 'Silent Places' on May 1 via Felte Records. Along with the announcement comes the group's first single release titled 'Sleep' which is now streaming on their Bandcamp website.

The new studio album follows Houses of Heaven's four-track debut EP 'Remnant' which released in 2017.

With synths, guitars, electronic percussion, and live drums, "Houses of Heaven fuse early industrial and techno rhythms with the melodicism of shoegaze and a heavy dose of dub-influenced effects," as described in a press release. The band consists of Keven Tecon (vocals), Adam Beck (guitar), and Nick Ott (drums).


The new studio album was produced by Matia Simovich (Inhalt) and engineered by the likes of Monte Vallier (Weekend) and John McEntire (Tortoise).

As per the release, 'Silent Places' was "written against the backdrop of the Northern California wildfires, ever-growing tent cities and the continued rise of empty luxury housing in the Bay Area." The album also explores the intimate experiences that transpire within the chaotic confines of modern living. 


Houses of Heaven - 'Silent Places' cover art (Courtesy of the artiste)


The new album's opening track and new single 'Sleep', with its grungy, gritty arpeggiated synths, powerfully brooding strings, and kick-in-the-teeth drums, opens in resonance to a sort of new wave Nine Inch Nails track but takes a turn towards a haunting and melodic gothic theme amidst its ominous vocals.


Houses of Heaven will embark upon a three-day tour this year. Kicking off at the Slim's club in San Francisco with bands Black Marble and Moaning on April 7, the band will then head to San Diego on May 28 before wrapping up at Zebulon in Los Angeles, California the following day. The final performance will also feature both Cold Beat and Fearing who will share the stage with Houses of Heaven.


'Silent Places' Tracklist:

01. 'Sleep'
02. 'Dissolve The Floor'
03. 'All Possible Obstacles Are Present'
04. 'A Place Between'
05. 'Channeling'
06. 'Time Apart'
07. 'In Soft Confusion'
08. 'Pathwork'
09. 'Caresses'

'Houses of Heaven' is a great recommendation if you enjoy New Order, The Cure, Odonis Odonis, Nine Inch Nails and Boy Harsher.

Pre-order 'Silent Places' here


Share this article:  Houses of Heaven Silent Places Sleep new album single announcement dance electronic techno debut