The Chills announce new album 'Snow Bound', share two singles: Listen

The follow up to The Chills's 'Silver Bullets' arrives this September. 'Snow Bound' spans 10 tracks and is previewed by lead singles 'Complex' and 'Lord of All That I Survey'

                            The Chills announce new album 'Snow Bound', share two singles: Listen
(Source : Getty Images)

Three years ago, New Zealand guitar-pop greats the Chills came back from a nearly two-decade hiatus with 2015’s 'Silver Bullets'. A year later, they followed it up with a reissue of their 1986 debut compilation 'Kaleidoscope World.' Now, it looks like the 'kiwipop' outfit spearheaded by Martin Phillipps is here to stay as they've just announced their new album 'Snow Bound', scheduled for a September 14 release via Fire. 

In anticipation of the new release, (which will serve as the outfit's sixth full-length studio album comprised of original material), the proponents of the Dunedin sound genre released two new singles titled 'Complex' and 'Lord of All That I Survey'.

The band also shared the tracklist of the album (via Stereogum) and the new album will feature a total of 10 tracks. Lead single 'Complex' is a grandiose anthemic jangly pop number that features some highly infectious hooks.

"I'm not the man / you think I am / I'm a complex piece of the plan," Phillipps sings on the chorus which appears just 40 seconds into the track, reminiscent of the old days of the band. Meanwhile, 'Lord of All I Survey' starts on a more relaxed, mellow tone before building into a triumphant statement about coming-of-age. Listen to both the lead singles below.

The Chills will also be touring through their homeland of New Zealand later this fall in support of the new album. Find the full schedule of tour dates as well as the tracklisting for 'Snow Bound' below. You can pre-order the new album here.

'Snow Bound' Tracklist:

01. Bad Sugar
02. Time To Atone
03. The Greatest Guide
04. Scarred
05. Complex
06. Deep Belief
07. Lord Of All I Survey
08. Snow Bound
09. Easy Peasy
10. In Harmony

The Chills tour dates:

09/14 Hamilton, NZ @ Altitude
09/15 Gisborne, NZ @ The Dome
09/16 Hawke’s Bay, NZ @ Haumoana Hall
09/20 CHCH, NZ @ Blue Smoke
09/21 Dunedin, NZ @ 50 Gorillas
09/22 Wanaka, NZ @ Water Bar
09/27 Wellington, NZ @ San Fran
09/28 New Plymouth, NZ @ Mayfair Theatre
09/29 Palmerston North, NZ @ The Globe
09/30 Paekakariki, NZ @ St Peter’s Hall
10/04 Whangarei, NZ @ Butter Factory
10/05 Leigh, NZ @ Sawmill Cafe
10/06 Auckland, NZ @ Galatos
10/07 Waiheke Island, NZ @ Artworks