St. Vincent announces 'MassEducation', a stripped-back reimagining of 2017's 'MASSEDUCTION'

The NYC-based rocker St. Vincent is all set to release a full-length reworking of her latest magnum-opus 'MASSEDUCTION' and has shared a stripped-back version of album cut 'Savior'

                            St. Vincent announces 'MassEducation', a stripped-back reimagining of 2017's 'MASSEDUCTION'

During her extensive tours following the release of her highly-acclaimed 2017 LP 'MASSEDUCTION', Annie Clark aka St. Vincent has staged a series of intimate performances featuring stripped-down piano renditions of the album’s songs with accompaniment from Thomas 'Doveman' Bartlett. Now, the NYC-based indie rocker has announced that these renditions will be released as a full-length reimagination of her latest opus.

Titled 'MassEducation' (this time doing away with the all-caps title), the reworked album is due out on October 12 via Loma Vista Recordings and was recorded back in August 2017 at New York’s Electric Lady Studios while Annie Clark and Bartlett were mixing 'MASSEDUCTION'. You can pre-order the album here.

Just a couple of weeks ago, St. Vincent shared a piano-centric, minimalist reworking of the album cut 'Slow Disco', aptly titled 'Slow Slow Disco', which also features in the upcoming album and is just called 'Slow Disco' on the tracklisting). The instrumental “Dancing With a Ghost” is the only track from the original version not present here and, as CoS points out, the tracklist has also been rearranged to better suit the new arrangements.

In anticipation of the new album, St. Vincent has shared the reworked version of 'Savior'. The track does away with the elaborate funk arrangements from the original, putting Annie's vocals in the forefront, supported by sparse acoustic tones in the background. Listen to the track below.

St. Vincent also shared the image of a handwritten letter accompanying the album's announcement in which she talks about her musical journey with Thomas Bartlett and how the collaboration came to be. She describes the upcoming album as “two dear friends playing songs together with the kind of secret understanding one can only get through endless nights in New York City.” Read the full letter below via St. Vincent's official Twitter page.

Also find the tracklisting below, followed by the album art for 'MassEducation', which features St. Vincent's stripped back! Get it?


'MassEducation' Tracklist:
01. Slow Disco
02. Savior
03. Masseduction
04. Sugarboy
05. Fear The Future
06. Smoking Section
07. Los Ageless
08. New York
09. Young Lover
10. Happy Birthday, Johnny
11. Pills
12. Hang On Me

Album art for St. Vincent's upcoming album 'MassEducation', a stripped-back reworking of her 2017 album, 'MASSEDUCTION'.
Album art for St. Vincent's upcoming album 'MassEducation', a stripped-back reworking of her 2017 album, 'MASSEDUCTION'.