UK band Slaves announce new album 'Acts of Fear and Love.' Deets inside

The UK-based punk duo's third studio album and the follow up to 2016's 'Take Control' is due out this August via Virgin EMI/AMF Records.

                            UK band Slaves announce new album 'Acts of Fear and Love.' Deets inside
Slaves (Source: Getty Images)

Following the release of their recent single ‘Cut and Run’, Slaves have crashed back onto the scene with the announcement of their new album ‘Acts of Fear and Love,'  due out via Virgin EMI/AMF Records on August 17. You can pre-order the album here.

As per a press release, ‘Acts of Fear and Love’ is really a philosophical, bold and direct statement that’s spawned from everyday chatter. In this instance, it was a memory of drummer Isaac Holman's college teacher who once told him: “There's no such thing as hate – just acts of fear and love.” The band’s third album reflects that fear and love may actually be the biggest motivators in the world at the moment. 

According to the press release, working with a previous collaborator, producer Jolyon Thomas (Royal Blood, U2) in Brussels, the UK punk rock duo opened themselves up to a new sonic territory. Not concerning themselves with other people’s expectations of what a Slaves album should sound like, the band have experimented with their style, embracing pop songwriting and tender moments alongside the more traditional hardcore riffs and scream-along choruses.

The record has a more personal feel, which is also evident in the artwork and accompanying photos, with the band eschewing their more traditional artwork style and collaborating with, renowned fashion and documentary photographer, Juergen Teller. His naturalistic style catching the band in more candid, though still tongue in cheek, shots than they have been seen in before. On the album cover is Bart, guitarist Laurie Vincent's son and it also marks the first time the band has featured on its own artwork. 

Slaves will promote the new record with a short run of intimate UK live dates later this month – you can see the itinerary for their ‘I Would Drive 500 Miles and I Would Drive 500 More and Then Drive 126 More Tour’ below. Tickets will be available to fans who pre-order the album from the band’s store.

‘I Would Drive 500 Miles and I Would Drive 500 More and Then Drive 126 More’ Tour Dates:

22 July @ Arts Centre – Colchester

23 July @ The Dragonffli – Pontypool

25 July @ P.J Molloys - Dunfermline

28 July @ The Booking Hall – Dover

The band has also added a slew of fresh tour dates for the rest of the year, with several pitstops through some big-billed music festivals, including Osheaga at Montreal, Canada, Leeds and Reading Festival in UK, Lollapalooza Chicago and ultimately wrapping up at Cal Jam in October. Find Slaves' full tour schedule below:

12 July – Mad Cool Festival – Madrid

14 July – Exit Festival – Serbia

20 July – Colours of Ostrava – Ostrava - Czech Republic

27 - Nuits Secretes Festival – Aunoye-Aymeries - France

2 August – Lollapalooza – Chicago, USA

2 August – Empty Bottle (Headline) – Chicago, USA

5 August - Osheaga - Montreal, Canada

12 August – Sziget Festival – Budapest, Hungary

24 August - Leeds Festival – UK

26 August - Reading Festival – UK

28 September – Crucial Fest – Salt Lake City, USA

6 October – Cal Jam Fest – California, USA


Slaves have also released a humorous making-of video – which also features Bart – to tie in with the album announcement. Find the complete tracklisting for the new album below.

‘Acts Of Fear and Love’ - Tracklisting:

01. The Lives They Wish They Had

02. Cut And Run

03. Bugs

04. Magnolia

05. Daddy

06. Chokehold

07. Photo Opportunity

08. Artificial Intelligence

09. Acts Of Fear And Love