Metric drop new single 'Now Or Never Now' from upcoming album 'Art of Doubt'

The synth heavy single is the third taste of the album and follows earlier singles 'Dark Saturday' and 'Dressed To Suppress'.

                            Metric drop new single 'Now Or Never Now' from upcoming album 'Art of Doubt'

Metric recently announced their new album 'Art of Doubt', that is due out on September 21. Since then, the Canadian pop-rockers have shared the singles 'Dark Saturday' and 'Dressed To Suppress.' Now, the third preview of the album arrives in the form of the new single 'Now Or Never Now.'

“When you’re suddenly confronted with the fact that you’re rapidly running out of time to take action in your life, it isn’t always pretty,” Metric leading lady Emily Haines breaks down the new track. “You can no longer afford the luxury of words like ‘eventually’ or indulge in the usual superficial fixes. ‘Now or Never Now’ is the song for anyone who has stagnated, paralyzed by past failures, in a state of regret. It’s the song for that point when you realize there’s no escaping what you’re trapped in unless you’re willing to get hurt again. Everything sucks in an exhilarating way. There’s nothing left to do but start over.”

Spotify and Apple Music subscribers can listen to 'Now or Never Now' below.

The 'Now or Never Now' premiere comes on the heels of the Justin Broadbent-directed video for the album track ‘Dressed to Suppress’. The band also recently premiered the video for 'Dark Saturday' – notably shot on an iPhone X and also directed by long-time Metric collaborator Broadbent.

“This is our seventh album as a band,” notes Haines, “and we wanted the first song people heard from it to be ‘Dark Saturday’ as a sonic heads up that our guitars are back in force. Lyrically, the song depicts a dystopian nightlife scene of gaudy wealth where oblivious party girls say nauseating things like, ‘I’m so rich everything’s free.’”

For the first time in the band’s last three albums, guitarist Jimmy Shaw did not co-produce, preferring to turn over the producer mantle to first time collaborator Justin Meldal-Johnsen whose many other musical collaborations include M83, Beck and Nine Inch Nails. The album—which was recorded at Metric’s own Giant Studio in Toronto—was mixed by first time collaborator Tony Hoffer, whose countless credits include Phoenix, Depeche Mode and Air.

“Justin was just what we needed in a producer for this album,” notes Shaw. “He really saw every band member eye to eye and was able to capture what we each do best. It was something I realized I couldn’t do at this stage, having been in the band for so long. We were finally able to focus on just playing again, as we did at the start. Making this album brought us together in a way we hadn’t been for quite some time and I think you can hear it in the music.”

The album is available to pre-order via Metric’s website, including a variety of bundle options. Limited edition 12″ gatefold color vinyl albums and autographed 7″ Dark Saturday flexi-disc vinyl single packages are sold out, but there are still a limited number of autographed, standard black 12″ vinyl albums available. All pre-orders come with immediate downloads of “Dark Saturday,” “Dressed to Suppress” and “Now or Never Now” and will ship to arrive on or around the date of release.

Metric is currently wrapping up a 38-date run of live performances in arenas across North America as special guests on the reunion tour of three-fourths of the Smashing Pumpkins, and play the following UK dates in November as part of their European tour:

Metric Tour Dates (November):
Sat 17 Birmingham, O2 Institute 2
Sun 18 Glasgow, Queen Margaret Union
Mon 19 Manchester, O2 Ritz
Tues 20 London, O2 Kentish Town Forum

Album art for Metric's upcoming album 'Art of Doubt'.
Album art for Metric's upcoming album 'Art of Doubt'.

Art of Doubt Tracklist:
01. Dark Saturday
02. Love You Back
03. Die Happy
04. Now or Never Now
05. Art of Doubt
06. Underline the Black
07. Dressed to Suppress
08. Risk
09. Seven Rules
10. Holding Out
11. Anticipate
12. No Lights on the Horizon