Gorillaz drop ‘Fire Flies,' latest offering from new album ‘The Now Now’: Listen

The single follows up the three previously previewed songs: 'Sorcererz', 'Lake Zurich', and 'Humility'.

                            Gorillaz drop ‘Fire Flies,' latest offering from new album ‘The Now Now’: Listen
Damon Albarn of Gorillaz (Source : Getty Images)

We’re just about two weeks out from the June 29 release of Gorillaz’s new album, 'The Now Now'. So far, the Damon Albarn-spearheaded virtual outfit have shared three tracks from the release: 'Sorcererz', 'Lake Zurich', and 'Humility'. Now, Gorillaz have followed up with a fourth single in the form of the funk-overloaded 'Fire Flies'. 

Centered around a deep, resounding bass-line intertwined with spacey synths and skittering drums, 2-D's vocals (voiced by Albarn) drowned in heavy echo and reverb echo the theme of the song as he sings, "You were in the kind of game that put the force in me/ I was ever chasing fire flies." Like their other singles released so far, the song came with a swanky visualizer video. Listen to the track below:

'The Now Now' is the virtual apes' sixth studio album and a follow up to 'Humanz' which released just last year. It might be unusual for fans to see a new album drop with such a small gap, the only time it ever happening being 2010' 'The Fall', which released the same year as the critically acclaimed 'Plastic Beach', but Albarn has confirmed in a press released that we can expect “a more complete record” and not a surprise album.

Recently, Gorillaz played a festival headlining set at Germany’s Rock am Ring - their first gig after announcing the new album - where they previewed three other new songs from the album: 'Tranz', 'Magic City', and 'Souk Eye'. Considering the fact that the tracklisting lists 11 songs and that 7 of them have already been previewed either live or via release, it's not too hard to get a fair idea of what's to come on June 29. Read our speculative piece on what to expect from the new album here.

Gorillaz will embark on a short North American tour in support of 'The Now Now' starting October 8 in Toronto, Canada. The tour wraps October 20th with the U.S. debut of the band's Demon Dayz Festival, taking place at the Pico Rivera Sports Arena and Grounds in Los Angeles, featuring Erykah Badu, The Internet, Ana Tijoux, DRAM, Little Simz, Kilo Kish, and Tony Allen. The debut edition took place in 2017 at the Dreamland Margate amusement park in Margate, Kent, England.

Find the tracklist for 'The Now Now', below:

'The Now Now' tracklist:

01 Humility [ft. George Benson]
02 Tranz
03 Hollywood [ft. Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle]
04 Kansas
05 Sorcererz
06 Idaho
07 Lake Zurich
08 Magic City
09 Fire Flies
10 One Percent
11 Souk Eye