Dierks Bentley announces ninth studio album The Mountain

Dierks Bentley announces ninth studio album The Mountain
Dierks Bentley (Source:Getty Images)

Multi-platinum selling singer/songwriter Dierks Bentley has built a reputation as both a forever-young drifter and a dedicated family man. He's put in millions of miles on headlining tours and taken the fearless stylistic detours of a truly authentic artist. Now, Dierks Bentley continues that journey with his highly anticipated ninth studio album, 'The Mountain', set for a June 8 release via Capitol Records Nashville. 

Reaching a new creative high for the upcoming album, the country/bluegrass posterchild co-wrote 10 of the 13 new tracks that are unified by themes of presence and positivity, and range in style from textured rock to acoustic folk, feeling both rooted and expansive at the same time.

The story of the aptly titled 'The Mountain' begins in the Rocky Mountain resort town of Telluride, Colorado, which plays host to a celebrated bluegrass festival every year. Owing to his well-documented love of the genre, Bentley has attended the festival multiple times over the years, always making a point to slow down and tune back into the world around him. But after performing on the festival's main stage in 2017, the idyllic surroundings became more than a much-needed getaway.


"I found myself there, constantly reaching for my guitar," Bentley said. "It was like a gravitational pull. That town and those people just make you want to be creative, I couldn't describe it. I was like 'How do I tell everyone in Nashville this is what I want to write about?' I realized I couldn't bring it back, so I had to take everyone out there."

That August, Bentley returned with six of his most trusted songwriting collaborators. Bentley and his fellow 'Telluwriters' all holed up in a small house, explored the area and took a deep dive into the reflective vibes of the singer/songwriter. The group had five days to work with and were hoping to write eight songs, but ended up with nearly twice that number, which forms the unmistakable core of the record.

Bentley returned to Telluride with his production team Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart and Arturo Buenahora, Jr. to a tucked-away hideout called Studio in the Clouds last November to record the album. Perched high on a mesa, with its tracking room overlooking the endless Rocky Mountain landscape, 'The Mountain' rose up in all its magnificent earnestness.


"For me it's the best of both worlds, and it feels like something new. It's powerful but also happy, with acoustic sensibility mixed in with the big sounds I like to have for the road," Bentley added. "They are the songs I'd play for somebody to say, 'This is who I am right now.'"

Last month, Bentley shared the inspirational music video for the title-track of the album, a touching song whose video is centered around the Boston Marathon Bombing of 2013. Check out the music video below. Bentley is also touring extensively through the summer in support of his upcoming album. For ticketing and more information, visit his official website. Also find the tracklisting of 'The Mountain' below:

'The Mountain' Track Listing:

1. Burning Man (Feat. Brothers Osborne)

2. The Mountain

3. Living

4. Woman, Amen

5. You Can't Bring Me Down

6. Nothing On But The Stars

7. Goodbye In Telluride

8. My Religion


9. One Way

10. Son Of The Sun

11. Stranger To Myself

12. Travelin' Light (Feat. Brandi Carlile)

13. How I'm Going Out

Share this article:  Dierks bentley new album the mountain