Deerhunter announce new album, share lead single 'Death In Midsummer': Stream

Titled 'Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?', the new album arrives almost four years following 2015’s highly acclaimed 'Fading Frontier' and is set for a Jan 18 release.

                            Deerhunter announce new album, share lead single 'Death In Midsummer': Stream

After dropping some hints about a possible new album back in April, psychedelic rock icons Deerhunter have finally confirmed that their highly anticipated eighth studio album will arrive next year. Between then and now, the band released an experimental tour-only cassette called 'Double Dream Of Spring', but on Tuesday, the band finally detailed their next original studio full-length effort.

Titled 'Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?' the album arrives on January 18, 2019 via 4AD.

The new album marks Deerhunter’s first in almost four years following 2015’s highly-acclaimed 'Fading Frontier'. Its 10 tracks, many of which were debuted live during their summer tour, were produced by the band, Ben Etter, and Grammy-winner Ben H. Allen III. The album was produced by Cate Le Bon, a Welsh singer-songwriter known for her work with Perfume Genius and Kevin Morby. Tim Presley contributed additional lead guitars.

In a press release, the 37-minute LP is described as “an album out of time” and “a science fiction album about the present,” which sounds completely in line with the psychedelic pop outfit's usual affair.

As Consequence of Sound points out, parts of the album were recorded in Marfa, Texas, a ghostlike town in West Texas. “I think it’s a title that is definitely at home right here,” Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox said of the location of the recording. “There is a feeling of disappearance here… The desert just has a lot of disappeared things in it. It’s where things have disappeared to.” A large part of the new album was also recorded in Los Angeles’ Seahorse Sound, as well as Maze Studios and Cox’s own attic, both located in Atlanta, Georgia.

In anticipation of the album, Deerhunter have shared the lead single from the album. Titled 'Death In Midsummer', the track is a slow-burner that is driven by a harpsichord riff courtesy Le Bon and builds into a ripping, fuzzy guitar solo that is distinctive of the band's sound. Rolling Stone describes it as a "soft, eerie, Bowie-ish ballad". It also comes with its own music video chock full of tracking shots along scenic landscapes interspersed with clips of old, faded photographs. Check out the music video below:

Deerhunter have are also hitting the road in support of the album and have revealed 2019 tour dates, including a North American run that begins in February. Check out the full schedule of dates below, followed by the album art and the tracklisting.

Deerhunter 2018-2019 Tour Dates:
11/04 – Sao Paolo, BR @ Balaclava Festival
11/08 – Santiago, CL @ Blondie
11/10 – Santiago, CL @ Fauna Primavera
11/11 – Buenos Aires, AR @ Personal Fest
11/13 – Quito, EC @ La Ideal
11/14 – Lima, PE @ Sala Raimondi
01/17 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
01/21 – Osaka, JP @ Bigcat
01/22 – Nagoya, JP @ Electric Ladyland
01/23 – Tokyo, JP @ O-East
02/15 – Nashville, TN @ Cannery Ballroom
02/18 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s 20 Lanes #
02/19 – Detroit, MI @ El Club #
02/21 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall #
02/22 – Montreal, QC @ Le National #
02/23 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall #
02/24 – Boston, MA @ Royale #
02/27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel # *
03/01 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
03/02 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
03/03 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
03/05 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theatre *
03/06 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall *
03/08 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Music Festival

# = with Mary Lattimore
* = with L’Rain


Album art for Deerhunter's forthcoming album 'Why Hasn't Everything Disappeared?' (Image Credits: 4AD)
Album art for Deerhunter's forthcoming album 'Why Hasn't Everything Disappeared?' (Image Credits: 4AD)

'Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?' tracklisting:

01. Death in Midsummer
02. No One’s Sleeping
03. Greenpoint Gothic
04. Element
05. What Happens to People
06. Détournement
07. Futurism
08. Tarnung
09. Plains
10. Nocturne