Listen to Death Cab for Cutie's new album 'Thank You For Today'

'Thank You For Today' is the indie outfit's ninth studio album and follows 2015's Grammy-nominated 'Kintsugi.' It's also the first album to not feature longtime member Chris Walla.

                            Listen to Death Cab for Cutie's new album 'Thank You For Today'

Indie darlings Death Cab For Cutie is all set to return with their ninth studio album, 'Thank You For Today' this Friday, August 17. In anticipation of the release, NPR is exclusively streaming the full album on their website via their NPR First Listen feature. Listen to the full album here.

'Thank You For Today' serves as a follow up to 2015's Grammy-nominated 'Kintsugi'. The album spans 10 tracks and is produced by Rich Costey (Fiona Apple, Muse). As Spin points out, the new album is Death Cab's first to not feature longtime member Chris Walla. It’s also the first to include new members Dave Depper (Menomena, Ray Lamontagne) and Zac Rae (My Brightest Diamond, Fiona Apple), who have toured with the group since 2015.

In an interview with DIY Mag, frontman Ben Gibbard revealed how 'Thank You for Today' is more in line with the band's earlier work:

“If we were sitting here and this was not 2018 but 2025, if we had gone through six or seven producers and multiple collaborators, and we made a shit pile of a record, y’know, we’d probably be thinking that we should hang this up, it’s not working anymore. [But] I’m really happy with how this album’s turned out, and I’m feeling fairly confident that there are a number of songs on this record which will remind people why they liked or loved the band in the first place. I feel like this record is more in tune with the spirit of the first four albums than the last two, or even three.”

Death Cab previously released the singles 'Gold Rush,' 'I Dreamt We Spoke Again,' and 'Autumn Love' from the album, and they also teased 'Summer Years' during a concert in Amsterdam. The album, which also comes on the heels of the 10th anniversary of DCFC’s Narrow Stairs, will be supported with a fall tour that kicks off in late September. Check out the tracklisting for the album as well as the album art for the same below.

Album art for Death Cab For Cutie's 'Thank You For Today':

Thank You for Today Tracklist:
01. I Dreamt We Spoke Again
02. Summer Years
03. Gold Rush
04. Your Hurricane
05. When We Drive
06. Autumn Love
07. Northern Lights
08. You Moved Away
09. Near/Far
10. 60 & Punk