Dawes debut music video for 'Living in the Future,' first single from upcoming ‘Passwords’

The new music video comes on the heels of the first previewed single of the album, 'Crack the Case'. Dawes' sixth studio LP 'Passwords' is due out on June 22

                            Dawes debut music video for 'Living in the Future,' first single from upcoming ‘Passwords’
Dawes (Getty Images)

Los Angeles folk-rockers Dawes have launched their new music video for the song 'Living In The Future,' the lead single from their upcoming sixth studio album 'Passwords'.

The video was directed by Grant James (Father John Misty, Tedeschi Trucks Band), who reveals: “The concept of 'Living in the Future' revolves around Dawes having their performance holographically captured for posterity. The result is a perfect mix of analog and digital that not only taps into the theme of the song, but fully represents who the band is.”

Dawes also premiered 'Crack The Case,' another new song from Passwords earlier this month, via Consequence of Sound, who call the song a “’70s-era folk-rock soother.”

Dawes’ lead singer and songwriter, Taylor Goldsmith, provided a behind-the-scenes look at the making and influences behind the song in an interview with CoS: "'Crack The Case' was more or less the first song I completed for Passwords. The song made it clear to me what I wanted to talk about and how I wanted to say it, but beyond that I found it bringing me back to writing styles and lyrical approaches that I hadn’t explored for a few records.” 

As we reported earlier, 'Passwords' will be the group’s sixth studio album and the fourth on their own HUB Records. It is for and about the modern age: the relationships that fill it, the politics that divide it, and the small victories and big losses that give it shape.

"We're living in such a unique moment in history,” says Goldsmith, “Many of these songs are an attempt to come to terms with the modern world, while always trying to consider both sides of the story."

For 'Passwords', Dawes was reunited with Jonathan Wilson, who produced the band's first two albums.

"Part of the DNA of Dawes was shaped by Jonathan," Goldsmith says. "Those first two Dawes records have a certain essence to them. We were figuring out who we were. When it came time to produce our sixth album, why not go back to the guy who started it all with us?" Wilson adds: “I wanted to record them live and capture that magic that you can only get recording a real [email protected]*king band, that lives together and breathes together as a unit. There aren’t too many of those left, but I think we captured it.”

In August, Dawes will join Jeff Lynne’s Electric Light Orchestra on their first North American tour in over 30 years, and open for the band in cities including Oakland, Denver, Dallas, as well as two shows at NYC’s Madison Square Garden and two shows at LA’s The Forum. Check out Dawes' complete tour schedule here.

'Passwords' is scheduled for a June 22 release via HUB Records. Also find the tracklisting and the album art for the new album below:

'Passwords' Tracklisting

1. Living in the Future
2. Stay Down
3. Crack the Case
4. Feed the Fire
5. My Greatest Invention
6. Telescope
7. I Can't Love
8. Mistakes We Should Have Made
9. Never Gonna Say Goodbye
10. Time Flies Either Way