It's barely been over three months since CHVRCHES unveiled their latest album 'Love Is Dead', but it looks like the Scottish synth-pop outfit has one final gift for fans before the year wraps up.

This Friday, CHVRCHES will return with a brand new EP. Titled 'Hansa Session', the five-track offering features alternate versions of some of the album highlights from 'Love Is Dead'.

As Consequence of Sound notes, the five new reimagined tracks were recorded using all-new acoustic and string quartet arrangements. As the title suggests, almost the entire EP was recorded at Berlin’s famed Hansa Studios, where David Bowie completed his 'Berlin Trilogy' albums ('Low' (1977), 'Heroes' (1977), and 'Lodger' (1979)). The studio has also served as a base to many legendary rock acts like Depeche Mode, U2, and Iggy Pop among others.

“When we had the opportunity to record at Hansa we jumped at it even though we were in the middle of a hectic tour,” CHVRCHES’ Iain Cook said of the new EP. “It is such hallowed ground for me — my heroes Bowie, Depeche, Iggy, Siouxsie, Tangerine Dream, Nick Cave amongst others made arguably their best work in that building — and we hoped that when we went there, we would capture even just a tiny bit of that energy.”

Leading lady Lauren Mayberry added: “It was really fun to try to reinterpret the songs and still communicate the messages and emotions with different arrangements.”

'Love Is Dead' marked the band's third studio album and was released to mixed to lukewarm reviews. In Meaww's review of the album, we called it an album that "refuses to take a deeper, darker riskier approach that the band is so loved and respected for." Read the full review here.

In anticipation of the new EP’s release, CHVRCHES have shared a teaser trailer that includes footage from inside Hansa Studio, as well as the first taste of the new version of the 'Love Is Dead' highlight, 'Heaven/Hell'. Check it out below.

'Hansa Session' EP tracklist:
01. Graffiti
02. Miracle
03. Get Out
04. Heaven/Hell
05. Really Gone