Hyoyeon 'Second': Release date and how to listen to Girls' Generation star's collab with Bibi

Girls' Generation's Hyoyeon comes back with 'Second', her first single of 2021 which is a collaboration with rapper and singer Bibi


                            Hyoyeon 'Second': Release date and how to listen to Girls' Generation star's collab with Bibi
Hyoyeon and Bibi for 'Second' (@hyoyeon_x_x/Instagram)

Girls’ Generation fans are in for a ride this summer. We’ve had SM hinting at an OT8 reunion to the group’s leader, Taeyeon coming back in July with the single ‘Weekend’. Tiffany is using her trainee days to mentor the participants on the survival show ‘Girls Planet 999’ while the group’s rapper is releasing music as a DJ. Hyoyeon had previously revealed that she was coming back as DJ HYO in an exclusive interview with Cosmopolitan magazine.

SM confirmed that Hyoyeon will be releasing her first single of 2021, ‘Second’. The summer release also happens to be a collab with rapper and singer Bibi who went viral for her appearance in Heechul and Min Kyung-hoon’s ‘Hanryang’ with Ateez. ‘Second’ is a dance-pop song perfect for the summer with an upbeat rhythm full of 808 bass sounds in the arrangement. The song tries to spread positivity as Hyoyeon promotes self-care and hopes to comfort her listeners that it’s okay to take time off from our busy routine.

RELATED ARTICLES

Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon trends as 'Weekend' comeback tops charts

Girls’ Generation to reunite on ‘Yoo Quiz on the Block’ after 4 years, fans glad ‘wait is over’



 

Release date

Hyoyeon’s ‘Second’ will be released on August 9 at 6 pm KST (5 am ET).

How to listen

The single will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more.

Schedule

August 6 - ‘Donghae & Eunhyuk’s Naver Now Radio’ at 5 pm KST (4 am ET).
‘Drink With God 2’ on Channel S at 8 pm KST (7 am ET).
Music Video teaser

August 9 - Comeback showcase on V Live at 5 pm KST (4 am ET).
August 10 - ‘Choi Hwa-jung’s Power Time’ at 12 pm KST (August 9 at 11 pm ET).
August 15 - ‘Bae Sung-jae’s Ten’ at 10 pm KST (9 am ET).



 

Concept

Hyoyeon released teaser images that show the bright and vibrant concept featured in the music video. With the current trend of going retro, she opted for the fashion of the late '90s as she stares into the camera in a colorful knit dress in one concept photo and lowrise pants channeling her inner Britney Spears.



 

Hyoyeon on 'MMTG'

Hyoyeon celebrated Girls’ Generation’s 14th anniversary by appearing on JaeJae’s ‘MMTG’ interview on August 5. As part of pre-release promotional activities, Hyoyeon sat down with JaeJae and spoke about the concept of ‘Second’ and what she was going for. She also went through the ‘Dessert’ TikTok challenge that her co-members had done. She found Yuri’s exaggerated version hilarious and selected Taeyeon as the member who did the challenge best.

Known for being one of the best dancers of the group, JaeJae also made Hyoyeon follow and dance to other K-pop choreographies after watching them for a few seconds. Hyoyeon did a good job as she effortlessly danced to songs like BTS’ ‘Butter’ and aespa’s ‘Black Mamba’. She also played other games like guessing Girls’ Generation’s songs after listening to one second of it.

'I can't'

Fans of both Hyoyeon and Bibi were excited for the single as they tweeted, “Bibi featuring on hyoyeon's song i automatically know it's gonna slap.” One Twitter user pointed out something interesting about the collab, “Bibi is the Quavo of kpop I fear.” Regarding the V Live, a fan tweeted, “HYOYEON WILL BE HAVING A COUNTDOWN LIVE THROUGH SMTOWN VLIVE ON AUG 9TH AT 5PM KST BE READY BC WE'LL GONNA TAP TAP HEARTS AGAIN FOR OUR HYO.”

Another fan was excited about the outfits for this era, “Our Pretty Pinky Cowgirl.” One fangirled over her solo discography as they tweeted, “Hyoyeon gave us all these bops and i’m pretty sure the upcoming one, ‘second’ will be no different. at this point idk what’s stopping SM from giving her the album that she deserves.” Another fan tweeted, “Hahahahahaha Hyoyeon copying Yuri's 'ENERGETIC' Dessert cover I CANT MOM HELP.”



 



 



 



 



 



 

If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515