Somi's 'Dumb Dumb': Release date, concept and all about the singer's third single album

Somi is back after a year with her third single 'Dumb Dumb' which is an upbeat summer release reminiscent of early 2000s high school rom-coms


                            Somi's 'Dumb Dumb': Release date, concept and all about the singer's third single album
Somi for 'Dumb Dumb' (@somsomi0309/Instagram)

Soloist Somi has joined the August rush and is part of this summer's K-pop lineup. She is set to release her newest single ‘Dumb Dumb’ after almost a year. We last saw her in 2020 with the single ‘What You Waiting For’ with which she got her first music show win. Fans were since waiting for her comeback and were excited once it was announced that her August release was confirmed.

The Canadian-Dutch-Korean singer was a trainee at JYP Entertainment and came first in the survival show ‘Produce 101’. As a result, Somi ended up debuting in the subsequent project girl group I.O.I in 2016. She then had her solo debut in 2019 with ‘Birthday’ and is now under The Black Label. Here’s everything that we need to know about ‘Dumb Dumb’, her third single album.

READ MORE
Dreamcatcher' 'Summer Holiday': Release date, concept and all about their twisted summer album

Astro 'Switch On': Release date, how to listen, concept and all about retro comeback



 

Release date

Somi’s ‘Dumb Dumb’ will be released on August 2 at 6 pm KST (5 am ET).

How to listen

The single will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more. You can also pre-save the single on Spotify and Apple Music.



 



 

Schedule

August 2 - Comeback Live on Somi's TikTok at 8 pm KST (7 am ET).
August 3 - ‘Noon Song of Hope’ at 12 pm KST (11 pm ET).
August 4 - ‘Wendy’s Youngstreet’ at 8 pm KST (7 am ET).
August 8 - ‘DAY6 Kiss The Radio’ at 10 pm KST (9 am ET).

Concept



 

Somi released several vibrant and fun concept teasers that gave us a hint as to what kind of song ‘Dumb Dumb’ will be. Inspired by scrapbooks and collages, the concept photos show the bubbly idol in various colorful outfits straight out of 'Mean Girls' and 'Clueless'.



 

Teaser and music video

She also released a teaser for the music video of ‘Dumb Dumb’. Reminiscent of the high school rom-com of the early 2000s, we see a blonde Somi as a popular high school student. Juxtaposed with bright pastel colors in the cafeteria and hallways versus darkly lit bathrooms and prom night, Somi reveals the hip-hop pre-chorus full of swagger.
Watch the teaser below.



 

Watch the music video below.



 

‘Somi supremacy’

One fan tweeted, “Somi is coming to serve with this comeback.” Another tweeted, “This somi supremacy.” One tweeted, “NAH BUT SOMI JUST KEEP SETTING THE BAR HIGH EVERY COMEBACK.” Another tweeted, “The styling doooho did for somi’s comeback looks so GOOD!! these outfits better be on a live performance pls.” One tweeted, “Jeon somi is the popular girl that everyone hates cuz they ain't her.” Another tweeted, “WTFFFF NETFLIX HIGHSCHOOL SHOW FEMALE LEAD MS.JEON SOMI??????”



 



 



 



 



 



 

If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515