Dave Chappelle to receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

The comedian is the 22nd recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor and he joins a distinguished group of comedians like Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Richard Pryor, Bill Murray and more who have received the award in the past.

                            Dave Chappelle to receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor
Dave Chappelle (Source : Getty Images)

Dave Chappelle is the 22nd recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, which is bestowed annually by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

"Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain’s observation that ‘against the assault of humor, nothing can stand.’ For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective. Dave is a hometown hero here in Washington, D.C., where he grew up. We’re so looking forward to welcoming him back home," said Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter in a statement.

Comedian Dave Chappelle speaks onstage during the 90th Annual Academy Awards at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center on March 4, 2018 in Hollywood, California. (Getty Images)

"Dave is one of the truly original voices in comedy - the definition of a creative artist," Matthew Winer, director of comedy and special programming at the Kennedy Center was reported saying. "He's a modern-day sociologist, skewering stereotypes, defying boundaries and showing us that laughter can be a way to contextualize issues that we struggle to understand."

Chappelle is best known for his stand-up comedy and sketch series 'Chappelle's Show'. The comedian has already won two Emmys, two Grammys, and Player Hater of the Year.

The stand-up comedian who is from Washington, D.C., will receive the honor in a ceremony and gala performance on October 27, 2019. The prize includes a bronze bust of Mark Twain. The program, which also features tributes from other comedians and entertainers, will air on PBS on January 6, 2020.

The stand-up comic, actor, producer and director joins a distinguished group of comedians to receive the award. Last year, 'Seinfeld' and 'Veep' star Julia Louis-Dreyfus won the honor. Other honorees include Richard Pryor, Whoopi Goldberg, Lily Tomlin, Bill Murray, Eddie Murphy and George Carlin. Last year, the Kennedy Center also rescinded the Mark Twain Prize it had bestowed upon Bill Cosby in 2009 after he was convicted of sexual assault.

If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515.