Who's who on Loudoun County School Board: America's most controversial panel gets slammed again

Who's who on Loudoun County School Board: America's most controversial panel gets slammed again
From left, Dr Scott A Ziegler, Atoosa Reaser, Denise Corbo, and Harris Mahedavi, who are all on the school board that has repeatedly been slammed for its controversial policies (Loudoun County Public Schools)

LOUDOUN COUNTY, VIRGINIA: The Loudoun County School Board has been in the news for several months for all the wrong reasons. First, it made national headlines in the summer because it ruled in favor of teaching critical race theory (CRT) in the county's schools and adopting inclusive norms for transgender students. Then, in May, a female student claimed that she was sexually assaulted by a boy 'wearing a skirt' in the girls' bathroom. When the case went to juvenile court, judge Pamela Brooks said that the 15-year-old student had been raped in the bathroom at Stone Ridge High School in Leesburg, Virginia in Loudoun County.

But at the time when the complaint was made, no action was reportedly taken by the school board. Even when the victim’s father Scott Smith confronted the board members about the crime in a meeting in June, he was disregarded and was dragged out by the cops, who then arrested him. The latest controversy to dog the Loudoun County School Board is a mother alleging that her six-year-old daughter was told during a History lesson in the early spring of 2020 that “she was born evil because she was a white person”.


Loudon County sexual assault scandal worsens as 7th grader is found groping other boys

Parents want Obama to apologize to Scott Smith and daughter after judge rules she WAS raped


The identity of the mother is not known yet, but her video on the internet has gone viral, where she claimed, “My six year old somberly came to me and asked if she was born evil because she was a white person, something she learned in a history lesson at school.” She also went on to accuse former Loudoun County Public Schools Superintendent Eric Williams, his successor, Dr Scott Ziegler, and the school board for the insensitive experience her child had to go through in the school that comes under the Loudoun County School Board.

The woman continued: “We had specifically moved them out of LCPS due to the swift and uncompromising political agenda of Superintendents Williams, Ziegler, and the school board had forced upon us,” before adding: “Then, you kept the schools closed for a year-and-a-half, despite the science indicating it was safe for kids to return. Now, you’ve covered up a rape, and arrested, humiliated, and falsely accused parents of being domestic terrorists.”

Who's on Loudoun County School Board?

According to the website of the Loudoun County Public Schools, it is “the official policy-making body of the Loudoun County Public Schools. It operates under the laws adopted by the General Assembly of Virginia and consistent with regulations adopted by the Virginia Board of Education.” The election for the selection of the board members happens every four years in the November general election “with one member elected for each of the eight electoral districts and one member elected at-large.” It adds: “Voters chose Loudoun County’s seventh elected School Board in November 2019 and the members took office January 1, 2020.”

There are currently nine members on the school board along with the Superintendent, Dr Ziegler. He joined the office in June 2021 before serving as LCPS’ interim superintendent in January. The about page of him on the board’s site says, “Dr Ziegler previously served as a special education and social studies teacher with Portsmouth Public Schools and Virginia Beach City Public Schools. After more than 15 years as a classroom teacher, he became an assistant principal and then an employee relations specialist.”

It adds that he “holds a Doctor of Education degree in Educational Leadership from Northwest Nazarene University, a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study in Education Leadership from Cambridge College, and a master’s degree in secondary education and a bachelor’s degree in history from Eastern Nazarene College.”

Other than Dr Ziegler, current board members include Denise Corbo (At-Large Member), Atoosa Reaser (Vice-Chair Algonkian District), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn District), Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge District), Andrew Hoyler (Broad Run District), John Beatty (Catoctin District), Jeff Morse (Dulles District), and Brenda Sheridan (Chair Sterling District). Beth Barts, a board member representing Leesburg District, has already stepped down while Virginia Republican gubernatorial candidate Glenn Youngkin has publicly called for the resignation of Dr Ziegler and the remaining school board members on October 23.

Share this article:  Loudoun County School Board members who are they transgender CRT education 6 year old told born evil