Lil Uzi Vert drops long-awaited 'Eternal Atake' LP after two-year wait to mixed fan reactions

Lil Uzi Vert drops long-awaited 'Eternal Atake' LP after two-year wait to mixed fan reactions
Lil Uzi Vert (Getty Images)

The glorious day is finally here! Fans of hip-hop star Lil Uzi Vert can now relax and breathe a huge sigh of relief, knowing that the rapper has finally released his highly-anticipated album, 'Eternal Atake', after it was being dangled like a carrot on a stick for the last two years — it was actually teased way back in 2018!

The singer's struggles with his record label Generation Now have been well-documented, and although he's kept up a constant flurry of musical output, including two preview singles, 'Sanguine Paradise' and 'That's A Rack', as well as an entertaining dance that went viral for his track 'Futsal Shuffle 2020', fans have always been clamoring for more from the ridiculously talented star and fashion icon. 


And in the last few days, Lil Uzi Vert kicked his week-long album release party into high gear. He released an official teaser trailer called 'Baby Pluto' (also the name of a new track) for the 'Eternal Atake' album, complete with a 'Matrix'-esque break from reality and an 'ET'-style beam-up into a mammoth alien spaceship, along with serene purple-clad members of his Heaven's Gate cult-ish entourage.

And on Friday, the artiste revealed the tracklisting for his new record, which featured 16 songs and two bonus tracks, and strangely, just one solitary featured credit, courtesy of Syd of The Internet - she appears on the track 'Urgency'.  However, we have it on good authority that the deluxe version of the album will feature guest stars like Chief Keef, Lil Baby, A Boogie, Future, Young Thug, Pierre Bourne, Myron, Kobe Rollie and more.


Previously released fan favorites 'Sanguine Paradise' and 'That's A Rack' also didn't make the cut for the new album, but that's not exactly a dealbreaker, we're all just happy the album is finally here. Even more strangely, the rapper didn't even set up a formal release date for the album, he just kind of dropped it on us without warning, Eminem style.

And now that it's actually here, and fans have had time to digest the much-hyped album, the overwhelming reaction on social media is that this has been "both incredibly amazing and also kinda anticlimactic, bruh."

It's most definitely a good record, filled with plenty of amazing tracks like 'P2', 'I'm Sorry', 'Prices', 'Silly Watch', 'Homecoming', 'Celebration Station' & 'Lo Mein'. But the staggering 18 tracks on the album seem to suggest that Lil Uzi went for quantity over quality on this latest offering and has packed the album with some real zingers, along with some fillers ('You Better Move', 'Pop', 'That Way') to clean out the storage space for his next release. 



However, Lil Uzi Vert has taken the mixed response of his fans in his all-conquering stride, saying, "Give it a week you will understand the whole concept, keep listening, some people catch on slow."

So this might be the sleeper hit of the spring/summer for all we know — we also can't wait for the deluxe version of the album to drop. For now, let's bask in the glow of this new release — it has to be said, some of these tunes are straight-up blue fire!

Share this article:  Lil Uzi Vert new album Eternal Atake release fan reaction mixed deluxe version guest stars