Golden Child’s ‘Game Changer’: Release date, concept and how to stream apocalyptic album

Golden Child is set to release their second studio album with the lead single 'Ra Pam Pam' which has a dystopian music video


                            Golden Child’s ‘Game Changer’: Release date, concept and how to stream apocalyptic album
Golden Child posing for 'Game Changer' (@GoldenChild/Twitter)

August is about to get real busy for K-pop fans. In the first week itself, we’re getting more than ten comebacks. And one of them happens to be the 10-member boy group Golden Child. We’d last seen them in January when they’d released their hit mini-album ‘Yes’. The tracks ‘Burn It’ and ‘Breathe’ entered charts like iTunes and Gaon and got them wins on music shows.

With fans and non-fans alike hyping their January release for months, the group charted on Billboard for the first time on the 'Next Big Sound' chart in May. Growing domestically and globally, fans are excited for Golden Child’s summer release this August. The lead single ‘Ra Pam Pam’ is much talked about even before the release for incorporating themes like climate change and social activism in its cinematic music video. Here’s everything about the group’s second studio album ‘Game Changer’.

READ MORE

Somi's 'Dumb Dumb': Release date, concept and all about the singer's third single album

Astro 'Switch On': Release date, how to listen, concept and all about retro comeback

Golden Child for 'Game Changer' (@GoldenChild/Twitter)

Release date

Golden Child’s ‘Game Changer’ will be released on August 2 at 6 pm KST (5 am ET).

How to stream

The album will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more.



 

Schedule

Some parts of the schedule for this comeback has been released in advance.

August 1 - ‘Twitter Blueroom Live’ on Twitter at 7 pm KST (6 am ET).
August 2 - Comeback showcase on V Live at 8 pm KST (7 am ET).
August 4 - ‘Weekly Idol’ at 12 pm KST (11 pm ET).
August 6 - ‘DAY6 Kiss The Radio’ at 10 pm KST (9 am ET).
August 7 - ‘Park Sohyun’s Love Game’ at 6 pm KST (5 am ET).

Tracklist

Golden Child's tracklist (@GoldenChild/Twitter)

1. ‘Game Changer’
2. ‘Ra Pam Pam’ - Title track
3. ‘Bottom Of The Ocean’
4. ‘Fanfare’
5. ‘Singing In The Rain’ by Joochan and Bomin
6. ‘GAME’ by Tag and Jibeom
7. ‘Spell’
8. ‘We’re Raining Outside The Window’ by Daeyeol
9. ‘POPPIN’’ by Y and Jangjun
10. ‘Feeling’ by Seungmin, Donghyun and Jaehyun
11. ‘I Know It’

Jangjun took part in writing the lyrics for ‘Ra Pam Pam’ and ‘POPPIN’’. He and Tag also wrote their lyrics for ‘Fanfare’ and ‘Spell’. Tag also co-wrote his sub-unit song ‘GAME’. The album is as dynamic as it can get from jazzy numbers and dance-pop tracks to ballads with acoustic sounds along with the fierce title track 'Ra Pam Pam'.

Concept



 

Three sets of concept photos were released, but none of them remotely prepared us for the music video teasers. The boys are either dressed in sophisticated outfits or channel summer vibes in refreshing and youthful concept photos. However, the storyline seen in the teasers of the music video is on a completely epic scale.

Teasers and music video

Golden Child released two teasers for the music video as well as a snippet of the performance and individual teasers. With Latin sounds like brass instruments, ‘Ra Pam Pam’ is a moombahton song perfect for the summer. But the music video teasers tell a different tale. Set in a dystopian world, the boys try their best to survive after an apocalypse that has destroyed the world and made the surface uninhabitable.

Watch the performance teaser below.



 

Watch the music video teasers below.



 



 

Watch the music video below.



 

'Really are the best boys'

One fan tweeted, “The teaser vs. how golcha appeared on the teaser.” Another tweeted, “As a bio student, i have been so exposed to films regarding environmental issues + know just how important it is to talk abt it and im so proud of golcha bc they’re using their platform for such a great cause they really are the best boys.” One tweeted, “Golcha trailers??? actually relating to the song??? Omg.” Another tweeted, “THIS SOUNDS LIKE…….. SOTY???? GOLCHA LEZZGET IT!!!”



 



 



 



 

 






If you have an entertainment scoop or a story for us, please reach out to us on (323) 421-7515