The Rick and Morty soundtrack is finally here - Time to get Schwifty!

The Rick and Morty soundtrack is finally here - Time to get Schwifty!

Rick and Morty's fans rejoice! Or should I say "wubba lubba dub dub!" The Emmy Award-winning animated sci-fi adventure show by Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland has finally rolled out a soundtrack album that spans all three existing seasons.

While the show is lauded for its wholly original creativity and humor, a part of the success surely owes credit to the quirky, other-worldly, bizarre score, courtesy of Ryan Elder, who features heavily on the soundtrack album. Complementing Elder's score on the album is a collection of thoughtfully picked licensed music from the show featuring artists like Mazzy Star, Chaos Chaos, Belly and of course, Blonde Redhead - whose 2000 hit 'For the Damaged Coda' became widely loved as the 'Evil Morty' theme, bringing the track back into popular consciousness two decades after its initial release. 

The album also features a couple of new songs inspired by the show itself, courtesy of Chad VanGaalen and hip-hop group Clipping, all topped off with Justin Roiland's impromptu lyricism that gave us addictive yet cringy hits like 'The Flu Hatin' Rap,' 'Let Me Out' and the smash hit 'Get Schwifty.'

Thanks in part to Ryan Elder‘s quirky, creative score, which is heavily featured on the album. In addition, Elder’s score is accompanied by music from Mazzy Star, Blonde Redhead, Chaos Chaos, Belly, as well as a couple of new songs inspired by the show itself, courtesy of Chad VanGaalen and hip-hop group clipping.

In a recent interview with Collider, Elder spoke about how he approached writing the first few original songs and envisioned what they’d sound like:

"Usually the lyrics to the songs are written into the script, so they always have an idea of what they want it to sound like," Elder revealed. "For example, for 'Goodbye Moonmen,' the script said, “Fart sings a David Bowie-inspired song,” so it was very clearly in the script, and then the lyrics were all there, exactly what I used."

"[For] others like 'Human Music,' I had to call Justin and say, “What the heck does human music sound like?” Then 'African Dream Pop' from Season One as well as an instrumental that Gavin puts on when he’s turning into a creature, a "Cronenberg." So that was just in the animatic as African Dream Pop, and so I was like, “Oh man, what does African Dream Pop sound like?” And that one I got to just go off on my own and figure out how I wanted to emulate that, but it was all in the title, right? It’s gotta be African, it’s gotta be Dream Pop."

Spotify users can listen to the whole album below. Apple Music subscribers can check it out here.

In addition to streaming platforms, the Ricky and Morty OST is currently available on CD and vinyl, with a deluxe vinyl edition dropping on November 23rd. The special edition LP will come in an elaborate plexiglass window with LED lights and feature a number of bonuses, including “an extended mix of the screaming sun from the second season finale,” for some bizarre reason. For fans of the screaming sun, pre-orders are available here.

Check out the artwork for the soundtrack album, followed by the full tracklisting below:


Artwork for the 'Rick and Morty Soundtrack' album.
Artwork for the 'Rick and Morty Soundtrack' album.



'The Rick and Morty Soundtrack' tracklist:
01. Rick and Morty Theme Song
02. Jerry’s Rick
03. The Small Intestine Song
04. The Flu Hatin’ Rap
05. African Dream Pop
06. Look On Down From The Bridge (Mazzy Star)
07. The Rick Dance
08. Goodbye Moonmen
09. Summer and Tinkles
10. Do You Feel It (Chaos Chaos)
11. Unity Says Goodbye
12. Get Schwifty (C-131)
13. Raised Up (C-131)
14. Stab Him in the Throat (clipping.)
15. Help Me I’m Gonna Die
16. Let Me Out

17. Memories (Chaos Chaos)
18. Stuttering Light (Chad VanGaalen)
19. Alien Jazz Rap
20. For The Damaged Coda (Blonde Redhead)
21. Fathers and Daughters
22. Seal My Fate (Belly)
23. Terryfold (Chaos Chaos)
24. Tales From The Citadel
25. Rick and Morty Score Medley
26. Human Music

Share this article:

 The Rick and Morty soundtrack is finally here