The 1975 detail new album 'A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships': What to expect and everything we know so far

With just over a month to go for the indie pop breahtrough band's latest offering, we take a look at what fans can expect from the new album.

                            The 1975 detail new album 'A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships': What to expect and everything we know so far

After a fair bit of speculation, teasers and a whole lot of buzz, on Monday, critically lauded indie-pop outfit The 1975 finally confirmed and detailed the release of their third studio album, which arrives two years after their Mercury Prize-nominated sophomore effort 'I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It'.

While the hype-machine gathers steam, here's a quick breakdown of everything we know about the album so far and what to expect from the new album.

What's the album called?

The new album is titled 'A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships'. There were early speculations and hints from the band's frontman Matt Healy himself that the album would share the title of The 1975's third EP, 'Music For Cars'. 

“‘Music For Cars’ was an EP named for our love for Brian Eno,” Healy said in an interview last year. “We’re using it as the album title now because of how meta and self-referential everything has become in the world of The 1975, and ‘Music For Cars’ was always my favorite title of everything we’d ever done, so it kinda made sense to wrap it up that way.”


But it looks like 'Music For Cars' was just a working title. In May earlier this year, posters started popping up all across the UK, most notably at the Reading and Leeds music festival, which teased the new name of the album. The band soon confirmed the title to be 'A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships'.

When does the new album drop?

The speculations and rumors, mostly based on the above-mentioned cryptic poster predicted that the album would drop on November 30. On Monday, the band confirmed that the album would indeed drop on the expected date. 


What does the tracklist look like?

The official tracklisting for the album spans 15 songs and you can find it below. Among the tracklist are a bunch of typical 1975-sounding titles, like: 'I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes),' 'Sincerity Is Scary', and 'The Man Who Married a Robot / Love Theme'. Keeping in line with both their 2013 self-titled debut as well as 2016's 'I Like It When You Sleep...', the album opens with a track titled 'The 1975', making this the band's third track with the exact same title!

Tracklisting for 'A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships':

01. The 1975
02.Give Yourself a Try
03. TooTimeTooTimeTooTime
04. How to Draw / Petrichor
05. Love It If We Made It
06. Be My Mistake
07. Sincerity Is Scary
08. I Like America & America Likes Me
09. The Man Who Married a Robot / Love Theme
10. Inside Your Mind
11. It’s Not Living If It’s Not With You
12. Surrounded by Heads and Bodies
13. Mine
14. I Couldn’t Be More in Love
15. I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes)

Have any of the singles been previewed yet?

Yes! The 1975 have shared three singles from the album so far. The first to drop was 'Give Yourself A Try', which dropped earlier this May. It came soon after they released the non-album cut 'Love Me'. In an earlier article, Meaww described the track as possessing "a heavily stripped back sound that doubles down on the roots that were exposed on their 2017 pop-redefining record 'I Like It When You Sleep, Because You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware,'". We also called it  "a steadfast marker of where the band is currently positioned- sonically as well as thematically."


A second single, titled ‘Love It If We Made It’, premiered on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show on July 19. The track is packed full of pop-culture references and even makes a mention of the whole debacle surrounding Kanye West's endorsement of Trump and the MAGA hat issue. "It’s me looking out," Healy said to Zane Lowe at the time. "It’s an interesting one 'cause there’s not a lot of context and a lot of the things I say in that are direct quotes from people or they’re headlines that I’ve read.” Listen to the track below:

A third single, the curiously titled 'TooTimeTooTimeTooTime' (Is the 'MeToo' hidden in there intentionally?) dropped soon after, featuring label mate No Rome, who recently teamed up wit the band on his single 'Narcissist'. Watch the accompanying music video for the track below, which features a cast of crowdsourced fans of the band, who auditioned after The 1975 dropped a recruitment post on their Twitter page.


What can we expect from the new album?

Judging by the pre-released singles, the album will continue to flesh out the idiosyncratic anthemic pop sound that the band has mastered over their first two albums. Originally, the album was supposed to be a thematic end to a trilogy of releases, but the plan has since been scrapped. Sonically, we can expect more sugary hooks and ample diversity between tracks. Lyrically and thematically, things could get darker. "My creative pursuit doesn’t elicit much happiness because a lot of the time it’s about the darker side of me. That’s the way it should be, if you’re really challenging yourself. But yeah, it’s f**king torture," Healy said to NME in an earlier interview while discussing the themes of the album.

The band is also apparently under lot of pressure to deliver their finest work yet with their third album, with Healy saying they intend to match up to the likes of The Smiths and Radiohead's finest works. "If you look at third albums, ‘OK Computer’ or ‘The Queen Is Dead’, that’s what we need to do,” he said.

Any other surprises to expect?

Although no other collaborations apart from label-mate No Rome feature on the album so far (at least, as far as we know), fans are in for yet another delight not too far after the album release. Healy recently confirmed that another record, tentatively titled ‘Notes On A Conditional Form’, is set to be released in May 2019.