Selena Gomez's new album 'Rare' has Justin Bieber written all over it: 'Why don't you recognize I'm so rare?'

Selena Gomez's new album 'Rare' has Justin Bieber written all over it: 'Why don't you recognize I'm so rare?'
(Getty Images)

Selena Gomez has just officially released her new solo album 'Rare', which was promised to us on January 10, 2020. The singer took to social media shortly after midnight to leave a quick announcement for her fans. On her Instagram account, the pop star said, "HERE IT IS!!! My album is officially out in the universe.. thank you for the souls that worked on this with me. Now it’s yours. Hope you like it. 🌈🌸💐 #Rare".

'Rare' also seems to be a nod to the singer's on-again, off-again 10-year relationship with the King Joffrey of Pop, Justin Bieber. If the song titles 'Love You To Lose Me' and 'Look At Her Now' are anything to go by, Selena clearly still has some strong feelings about being undervalued in her previous relationship with the 'Love Yourself' singer.

And the lyrics to the title song 'Rare' definitely seem to be a jab aimed directly at Bieber. "Saw us gettin' older / Burnin' toast in the toaster / My ambitions were too high." And the lines in the chorus also speak volumes - "It feels like you don't care / Why don't you recognize I'm so rare?"


It seems like Selena wanted to have the last word on the pair's troubled relationship before moving on for good - "But I know that I’m special / And I’ll bet there's somebody else out there / To tell me I’m rare / To make me feel rare."

Once known as one of the most iconic power couples in pop music, Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez officially called it quits in 2017.

The singer also promised her fans on Twitter that the official music video for the album's title track, 'Rare' would be out the same day, on January 10 at 9 am PT. You can now view the bubbly, shimmering-new, rainbow-hued music video here: 



After a long creative lull and some months of downtime to recharge her batteries, Selena chose to quickly release two new singles from her long-awaited third solo album over two consecutive days in October 2019 - namely the smash hits 'Lose You To Love Me' and 'Look At Her Now'. The track 'Lose You to Love Me' also became her first No. 1 single on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, which showed exactly how much her fans had missed her presence.

She had then proceeded to hint at the release of her album on social media in December last year, with a short teaser trailer that had  Selenators (die-hard fans) in rapturous glee. Thanks to this advance information, we also knew that rappers Kid Cudi and 6lack would be making guest appearances on the album - here's a complete tracklisting of 'Rare' below:


1. 'Rare'
2. 'Dance Again'
3. 'Look at Her Now'
4. 'Lose You to Love Me'
5. 'Ring'
6. 'Vulnerable'
7. 'People You Know'
8. 'Let Me Get Me'
9. 'Crowded Room' feat. 6lack
10. 'Kinda Crazy'
11. 'Fun'
12. 'Cut You Off'
13. 'A Sweeter Place' feat. Kid Cudi

Selena Gomez performs onstage during the 2019 American Music Awards on November 24, 2019 in Los Angeles, California. (Getty Images)

Understandably, the 165 million Selenators worldwide were over the moon on hearing that the album had just released. Thousands of hearts and happy emojis were dropped in the comments section of her album announcement on social media. Many emotional fans confessed their undying love for Selena and also expressed their unbridled joy and excitement on listening to the new album. "I'm so excited, you are a RARE jewel Selena" gushed a user on Instagram. Another fan even claimed that some tracks were already her new favorites on the first listen - "My favorites are: LET ME GET ME 💛 CUT YOU OFF 💚 PEOPLE YOU KNOW & SWEETER PLACE 💙 I hope they gonna be hits ✨✨😍" 


To listen to Selena's latest solo album 'Rare', you can click here.  If you're a fervent Selenator, you don't have to wait anymore - come and get it!

Share this article:

 Selena Gomez releases Rare solo album Jan 10 official music video out 6lack Kid Cudi Selenators