Sarah Brightman shares 'Hymn', the title track of her first new album in five years

Sarah Brightman shares 'Hymn', the title track of her first new album in five years

We all know that feeling when a song just connects with you in a particular moment, lingering in your head long after it's gone. That's the feeling that led to the creation of 'Hymn', the latest offering from the world’s most successful and best-selling soprano Sarah Brightman.

The song marks the return of the classical crossover songbird after five years and serves as the title track of her upcoming album of the same name, and which is due out on November 9 via Decca Gold/ Universal Music Group.

Originally by British prog-rock band Barclay James Harvest, Brightman heard the song on a mixtape in the 80s. She played it in her car and loved it, but didn’t think it was right at that time in her life. Now, decades later, Brightman has revisited the song, given it her signature orchestral and ethereal touch, before making it the essence of the forthcoming album. 

“Many years ago I was driving up the highway in Carmel and I put a cassette in the tape player, and the first song that came on was ‘Hymn,’ Brightman recalls. "I remembered the song from the seventies and it’s a beautiful song. I'm really looking forward to letting it go and having its wings for everyone to hear.”

Listen to the song below:

'Hymn' marks the multi-platinum, Grammy Award-nominated, classical crossover pioneer’s first new studio recording since she released the international chart-topper 'Dreamchaser' in 2013. The album was recorded over the two years in Hamburg, Miami, London, Vancouver, Los Angeles, New York and Budapest and encompasses songs by modern composers and also an inspirational collection of orchestrated, choir-based songs. 

Brightman will soon be embarking on a massive world tour in support of the forthcoming record. Titled 'HYMN: Sarah Brightman In Concert', the tour kicks off in South America in November and includes a whopping 125 shows across five continents throughout 2019. The North American dates of the tour, produced by Live Nation, will kick off in January 2019 and you can grab tickets here. For the full schedule of tour dates, visit Sarah Brightman's official website. Find the tracklisting and album art for 'Hymn' below.

'Hymn' Tracklisting:

01. Hymn Overture
02. Hymn
03. Sogni featuring Vincent Niclo
04. Sky And Sand
05. Canto Per Noi
06. Fly To Paradise featuring Eric Whitacre Singers
07. Gia Nel Seno (La Storia Di Lucrezia)
08. Follow Me
09. You
10. Better Is One Day
11. Tu Che M’hai Preso IL Cuor
12. Miracle featuring Yoshiki
13. Time To Say Goodbye


Album art for Sarah Brightman's forthcoming album 'Hymn'.
Album art for Sarah Brightman's forthcoming album 'Hymn'.



Share this article:

 sarah brightman release hymn title track