Osees ‘Metamorphosed’: Release date, concept, tracklist and all you need to know about psychedelic-punk rock band’s 24th album

Osees ‘Metamorphosed’: Release date, concept, tracklist and all you need to know about psychedelic-punk rock band’s 24th album
(Getty Images)

The American psychedelic-punk rock band, Osees, also known as Oh Sees, Thee Oh Sees and a few other names, is all set to drop their 24th studio album in October titled ‘Metamorphosed.’ This will be their second album after they changed their name to Osees a few months ago.

The new project is a follow-up to their 23rd studio album, called ‘Protean Threat’, released on September 18, 2020. The fresh project will see the songs produced during the sessions when their previous project called ‘Face Stabber’ was being recorded. ‘Face Stabber’ was released in August 2019 when the band was called Oh Sees.

The Los Angeles band frontman John Dwyer had announced the new project during the same time when they had released ‘Protean Threat’ via official press release penned by the singer and actor Henry Rollins. Speaking about the new project, Dwyer in his press release asserted, “Things were starting to grind to a halt, so it was the perfect time to sew it all up. People need some tunes right now and I think the artistes community is making a good run of it. So much great shit is seeing light right now.”


He added, “‘Metamorphosed’ would’ve been out sooner but with the virus restrictions, shipping of LPs has obviously slowed down and so has manufacturing, so here we are.”

Osees currently has five members John Dwyer on the vocals, guitar, keyboards and flute, Tim Hellman on the bass guitar, Dan Rincon and Paul Quattrone take over the drums while Tomas Dolas stays on the keyboards. The band is known for incorporating a wide range of rock genres, including 1960s garage rock and psychedelic rock, punk rock, noise rock, art-punk and 1980s post-punk.


Release date

Osees ‘Metamorphosed’ will hit the Internet on October 16, 2020, via Rock Is Hell. Fans can also pre-order the album from here.


The band had released the cover art of the album on the same day of the album announcement. The official artwork is a trippy illustration of what seems to be a robot from the future with its face covered with a symbol. We can also spot his long tube-like neck melting into what appears to be liquid. 



‘Metamorphosed’ will keep the fans hooked with five songs which we earlier mentioned were produced during the sessions that led to the 2019 album ‘Face Stabber.’ Here’s how the tracklist looks like:

‘Electric War’
‘Weird and Wasted Connection’
‘The Virologist’
‘I Got A Lot’

The band has already dropped the lead single ‘Electric War’ in order to spread the word about their new album. You can check the song below:



Where to stream

Fans will be able to plug into ‘Metamorphosed’ on leading streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, Tidal and YouTube.


Share this article:

 Osees Metamorphosed release date concept tracklist new album 2020 new songs psychedelic punk rock