About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy Terms of Use Accuracy & Fairness Corrections & Clarifications Ethics Code Your Ad Choices
© MEAWW All rights reserved

NCT 2020 announce two new members Shotaro and Sungchan, excited fans are already calling the duo 'iconic'

Just like the previous NCT 2018, NCT 2020 will involve all members of NCT in the upcoming double album
UPDATED SEP 21, 2020
(Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

NCT 2020, a new sub-unit of South Korean boy band NCT, are all set for their album release! Just like the previous NCT 2018, NCT 2020 will involve all members of NCT in an upcoming double album. The official announcement about the upcoming release was made on NCT’s Twitter account and retweeted by all NCT affiliated sub-units.

The K-pop band shared a teaser for their upcoming album titled 'NCT 2020: Resonance Pt 1' and wrote, "NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt 1" along with hashtags #RESONANCE, #RESONANCE_Pt1, #NCT, and #NCT2020_RESONANCE.

The boy band's official handle shared another tweet saying, "INTERLUDE: RESONANCE" with the hashtags #NCT2020, #RESONANCE, #RESONANCE_Pt1, #NCT, #NCT2020_RESONANCE, #NCT127, #NCTDREAM, #WayV.

In a third tweet, the K-pop act informed that pre-order for the album has begun along with a link and a complete timeline of the release. The caption read, "NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt. 1 TIMELINE"


The teaser for 'NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt 1' showcases the new logo for the release while the teaser for 'Interlude: Resonance' is a montage of several past releases from NCT units. Earlier this month, SM Entertainment, the company behind the K-pop group, had confirmed that NCT was prepping for the release of a new album.

What's new

Apart from revealing the release timeline for their upcoming albums, NCT also announced that the NCT 2020 project will include all 21 members of NCT 127, NCT Dream and WayV, along with two new members Shotaro and Sungchan. The two new members will be joining a fresh NCT sub-unit yet to be launched.

NCT 2020 project will have two parts: the full album 'NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt. 1' which is slated to release on October 12 and 'NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt. 2' which will be released later. The two upcoming albums will continue the story of NCT’s universe as they become one through music.

'NCT 2020: RESONANCE Pt 1' will have 12 songs, including the tracks 'Make A Wish' and 'From Home'. You can pre-order the album starting September 21, 2020. An NCT fan took to Twitter and posted the entire 12 song track-list which is as follows:

'Make A Wish'
'백열등' ('Light Bulb')
'Dancing In The Rain'
'Interlude: Past to Present'
'무대로' ('Deja Vu'; '舞代路')
'月之迷' ('Nectar')
'Music, Dance'
'피아노' ('Faded In My Last Song')
'From Home'
'From Home' (Korean Version)


Talking about the two new additions to the boy band, a fan excitedly said, "the way Shotaro and Sungchan's names are listed after Jisung...Are we getting Jisung Hyung in NCT 2020?? For real?? I'm not ready for Jisung Hyung and Chenle Hyung too. I bet Shotaro Sungchan will be iconic duo too," while another, feeling protective about the new members, said, "I don't know anything about the new members but I already want to protect them from this wild weird fandom."



Talking about the slew of upcoming releases, a fan wrote, "we’re getting mtopia, wayvs variety show, superms album, and NCT 2020 stuff this week," while another added, "NCTzens better have the same energy towards streaming this coming NCT 2020 when ya’ll can crash a whole ass website."



NCT, a K-pop group unlike any other, follows the concept of unlimited members divided into various sub-units based in different cities worldwide. Currently, NCT consists of 21 members in a total of four sub-units namely NCT U, NCT 127, NCT Dream and WayV.

NCT first debuted with their unit NCT U in 2016 with the singles 'The 7th Sense' and 'Without You'. NCT U was followed by NCT 127 with an eponymous EP and, later, NCT Dream with the single 'Chewing Gum'. NCT introduced WayV, their first overseas sub-unit based in China in 2019 with the EP 'The Vision' followed by 'Take Off' and 'Take Over the Moon' and finally, a full-length studio album titled 'Awaken the World'.