Mastodon's 'Medium Rarities': Release date, tracklist and all the buzz around the heavy metal band's eighth album

Mastodon's 'Medium Rarities': Release date, tracklist and all the buzz around the heavy metal band's eighth album
Mastodon (Getty Images)

 If you are a fan of heavy metal band Mastodon, then you have good music days coming as the four-member band is all set to gift their fans a brand new album titled 'Medium Rarities'. The eighth album from the band will be a compilation of 16 tracks which also includes live versions of album cuts, instrumentals, unreleased material and TV and film tracks like 'Cut You Up With a Linoleum Knife' from the 'Aqua Teen Hunger Force' movie.

The Grammy-nominated heavy metal band has already released one single from their upcoming album called 'Fallen Torches'. The band comprises Troy Sanders (bass/vocals), Brent Hinds (lead guitar/vocals), Bill Kelliher (rhythm guitar/backing vocals) and Brann Dailor (drums/vocals). Mastodon’s last LP was 'Emperor of Sand' which was released in 2017. Here are all the other details about their new album:


Release date

‘Medium Rarities’ will hit the internet on September 11, 2020. The Atlanta based band had first teased their hardcore fans with a snippet on their official Twitter account on July 30, 2020. The short video featured the cover of the album which is a burning gothic flame with a lot of intricate detailing. The band then kept posting updates regularly concerned with the tracklist on their Twitter wall.



Talking about their fresh album, Bill Kelliher told Rocksound in an exclusive interview, "We had a bunch of stuff that was unreleased digitally, a bunch of cover songs that we’d done, so we wanted to put them all in one place for people. We added a new song, 'Fallen Torches', some instrumental versions of some special songs, some live things and put it all in a package. We wanted to do that instead of rehashing the same, 'Oh, here’s 'Blood And Thunder' and 'Curl Of The Burl'."



'Medium Rarities' will keep the fans hooked with 16 songs. The LP will come with a mix of eclectic covers including songs by alternative acts like Feist and The Flaming Lips as well as metal legends Metallica. The album will also entertain fans with soundtrack pieces written for 'Game of Thrones' and 'Aqua Teen Hunger Force’ movie. Here’s how the tracklist looks like:


'Fallen Torches'
'A Commotion'
'Asleep in the Deep' (Instrumental)
'Capillarian Crest' (Live)
'A Spoonful Weighs a Ton'
'Toe to Toes' (Instrumental)
'Circle of Cysquatch' (Live)
'Atlanta' (Ft. Gibby Haynes)
'Jaguar God' (Instrumental)
'Cut You Up With a Linoluem Knife'
'Blood & Thunder' (Live)
'White Walker'
'Halloween' (Instrumental)
'Crystal Skull' (Live)
'Iron Tusk' (Live)
'Fallen Torches' is a high tempo single with heavy verses and a melodic chorus.  The song was first planned to release in support of the band’s 2019 European tour but now ended up in the album.


Where to stream

'Medium Rarities' will be available on major digital platforms like Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon Music and YouTube among others.

Share this article:

 mastodon new album medium rarities release date tracklist buzz heavy metal