J-Hope ‘Jack in the Box’: Release date, tracks and all about BTS rapper’s solo debut album

J-Hope ‘Jack in the Box’: Release date, tracks and all about BTS rapper’s solo debut album
J-Hope's upcoming solo debut album, 'Jack In The Box', will feature two title tracks namely, 'More' and 'Arson' (Big Hit Music)

With BTS members finally going solo after spending nine years in the boy band that has now become one of the biggest boy groups in the world, it is only ideal for the sunshine of the boy group aka J-Hope to make his solo debut first. J-Hope teases his upcoming album as he dropped his pre-release single 'More' which blew the minds of fans. J-Hope has redefined himself as a rapper in the past already when he first released his solo mixtape, ‘Hope World’, followed by his hit single, ‘Chicken Noodle Soup’, which dropped in 2019.

Now, J-Hope is set to take over the world, as he becomes the first member to make his solo debut with the release of his album, ‘Jack In The Box’. Not only that but, J-Hope is all set to headline the upcoming Lollapalooza Music Festival in the United States this August making him the first Korean artist to headline the festival in the USA. With so much anticipation about his solo debut, fans have started making their theories about J-Hope’s album release that is set to drop in the weeks to come.



Millie Bobby Brown rocks thong bikini as she kisses boyfriend Jake Bongiovi during Italy vacation

Who was Carson Dunn? Boy, 10, tragically dies after falling off floating structure at Camp Dearborn



Release date

BTS’ J-Hope will make his solo debut with the album 'Jack in the Box' on July 15 at 1 pm KST (12 am ET). The physical album from J-Hope will actually be released on July 29.


How to listen

The album 'Jack In The Box' from BTS’ J-Hope will be released on all major music streaming platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, MelOn and more.


1. 'Intro'
2. 'Pandora's Box'
3. 'MORE' (Title Track)
4. 'STOP' (There Are No Bad People In The World)
5. '=' (Equal Sign)
6. 'Music Box: Reflection'
7. 'What if...'
8. 'Safety Zone'
9. 'Future'
10. 'Arson' / 'Fire Prevention' (Arson) (Title Track)


Big Hit Music and J-Hope both released the tracklist for his upcoming solo debut album. J-Hope's 'Jack In The Box' contains a total of 10 songs, including double title songs. The pre-release single, 'More' is one of the two title tracks and according to the label, 'Arson' is one of the album's second title tracks. The core message of J-Hope's 'Jack in the Box' follows a consistent genre and story flow from start to finish. On one hand, 'More' is a song that expresses J-Hope's aspiration to show various sides to the world in the old-school hip-hop genre with a unique shouting technique. Meanwhile, 'Arson' is a song that narrates the story of him coming out of the box and bumping into the world. It captures J-Hope's anguish at the crossroads of choice.




The horrifying story of Chrystul Kizer: How a sex trafficking victim ended up becoming the accused


Woman scarred after filming viral video of SAVAGE shark attack on seal off Nauset Beach


On June 28, J-Hope dropped the concept photos for his new single 'More' which serve as a pre-release single and the title track of J-Hope's upcoming album. The title of the album 'Jack In The Box' is a nod at J-Hope's journey in the music industry as he was “made to fit inside the box” that is the K-pop industry as a jester. This is something that the rapper himself discussed in his interview with Weverse Magazine. In folk, "jack-in-the-box" is a children's toy that consists of a music box that plays a melody when cranked.


Oftentimes, when the melody ends, the lid of the box pops open and a figure, usually a clown or jester, pops out of the box. With this album and his single 'More', J-Hope presents a take that there is more to him than just being a jester-in-the-box. The rapper unveiled several goth-inspired concept photos for his upcoming single. The photos show J-Hope with a jester's hat to fit with the theme of the album. He flaunts dark eyes and gothic face makeup which is very different from his usual sunny persona as a part of BTS.




On June 30, a day ahead of the release of the single, J-Hope dropped a teaser for ‘More’. In the short 15-second video, fans are able to see a small key with the word ‘more’ written over it. With the movement of light, the key that hangs in the air slowly starts to get clearer. The single will be an official opening to BTS’ Chapter 2 with J-Hope promising fans that there is more to him than what he was able to show with his journey in BTS. ‘More’ acts like a key to the lock on the box that is the true personality of J-Hope as a rapper, singer, and dancer who really seems like a ‘jack of all trades’. 


Share this article:

 J-Hope ‘Jack in the Box’: Release date, tracks, and all about the BTS rapper’s solo debut album