Interpol share chaotic, office romance themed single 'Number 10': Listen

'Number 10' is the second single to be previewed from the upcoming album 'Marauder'. The album was previously teased with a music video for lead single 'The Rover'.

                            Interpol share chaotic, office romance themed single 'Number 10': Listen

Just last month New York City's post-punk icons Interpol announced their new album 'Marauder' with an elaborate performance art press conference in Mexico City. The band’s follow-up to 2014’s 'El Pintor' was teased with a spot-on music video for lead single 'The Rover'. They have also been playing the track 'Now You See Me at Work' in their live sets, giving fans another preview of what's to come on the new album.

Now, less than a month away from the album's release date, Interpol have officially shared the second single from the album, titled 'Number 10'. As CoS points out, the single tells “the story of a secret office romance between Ella, a domineering boss, and her employee.” The taboo romance is brought to life by guitarist Daniel Kessler's loopy intro before bursting into a chaotic post-punk explosion, complete with Sam Fogarino’s relentless drumming and Paul Banks’ typically oblique lyrics.

“Your secret’s safe here / It’ll never leave / It’s in the basement for ya, na’mean?” he asks. Listen to the new single below:

As Spin notes, the band has been working on 'Marauder' since December of last year with producer Dave Fridmann, who hab been documenting the process right up until the final mixing in April. It also marks the first time they’ve worked with “an unfamiliar producer” since 2007’s 'Our Love to Admire'. As per Fridmann's notes, they recorded directly to two-inch tape at Tarbox Studios in upstate New York between December 2017 and April of this year.

In a press release, vocalist Paul Banks said, “Marauder is a facet of myself. That’s the guy that fucks up friendships and does crazy shit. He taught me a lot, but it’s representative of a persona that’s best left in song. In a way, this album is like giving him a name and putting him to bed.”

Marauder’s tracklist (which you can find below) features two interludes and, at just under 45 minutes, it is on the shorter side of Interpol albums. Despite this, the press release promises a “multi-layered and bold… adventurous departure in sound, intending to capture the intensity of their live performance."  The album art comes from a Garry Winograd photograph of Elliot Richardson, a former Attorney General famous for resigning after Nixon ordered him to fire Special Prosecutor Archibald Cox, in what’s known as the Saturday Night Massacre. Find the album art for 'Marauder' as well as the tracklisting below.

'Marauder' Tracklist:
01. If You Really Love Nothing
02. The Rover
03. Complications
04. Flight of Fancy
05. Stay in Touch
06. Interlude 1
07. Mountain Child
09. Surveillance
10. Number 10
11. Party’s Over
12. Interlude 2
13. It Probably Matters

* Bold: Previewed singles

Album art for Interpol's 'Marauder':