New Children of Bodom album could see the metal giants going back to their roots

Titled 'Hexed', the album is a follow up to 2015's 'I Love Chaos' and arrives March 8 via Nuclear Blast Records

                            New Children of Bodom album could see the metal giants going back to their roots

Irrespective of how you feel about Children of Bodom today, there's no denying that the pioneers of melodic death metal hold a special place in metal history. If you were even borderline into metal around the 2000s, there was practically no way to avoid the Finnish powerhouse. 

Combining a then-unique mix of neo-classical melodies and super-fast death metal, they quickly became one of Finland's best selling acts of all time, not just within the genre of metal, but overall. It might come as a surprise that the teenage boys bursting with attitude in their provocative music videos have actually been around for 25 years now, if you count their early days when they went by the name Inearthed.

Now, to celebrate a quarter century of doing what comes most naturally to them, the 'Lake Bodom' hit-makers are all set to return with their 10th studio album. 

On Wednesday, Children of Bodom confirmed that the follow up to 2015's 'I Worship Chaos' will arrive next year. Simply titled 'Hexed', the album spans 14 tracks (including 2 live versions and one remix) and arrives on March 8 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Children of Bodom frontman Alexi Laiho promises a lot of technical and progressive elements on the band's upcoming album 'Hexed'. (Getty images)
Children of Bodom frontman Alexi Laiho promises a lot of technical and progressive elements on the band's upcoming album 'Hexed'. (Getty images)

It's understandable as to why CoB might not generate the same hype that they did a decade ago. They are definitely past their heyday and 15 years after the seminal 'Follow The Reaper', you might wonder what they can offer that's new.

Ironically though, CoB's gradual fade from the top ranks of metal (at least globally, if not in Europe) was because metal as a movement started to bury itself deeper underground. New heroes championed new sub-genres but it could be argued that a good deal spun off from CoB's sound itself. As the trend leaned more and more towards unearthing the indie side of metal, acts like Deafheaven, Alcest, Gris and others made it to the forefront.

It also didn't help that Bodom started the turn of the 2010s with an all covers album called 'Skeletons In The Closet'. But hardcore fans will still remember it for an album where the band was doing what they do best - just having fun. Their hilarious cover of Britney Spears' 'Oops I Did It Again' was testament to that. Three more albums followed after that, and each one saw the band moving forward, attempting to adapt their sound to the changing times.

But now finally, it looks like the band is finally going back to its roots. In a statement, frontman Alexi Laiho admits that the album could be a crowd pleaser as it is definitely "catchier" than their most recent material. “So I started thinking about that, perhaps the song structures are easier to grasp on initial listen. But there’s some crazy shit in there, almost progressive or at least technical," Laiho says.

"There are certain melodies across the album that could have come from jazz songs," he adds before clarifying that "although they’re completely metal with us, of course," with a laugh.

Although we have no single to gauge what the new album will sound like, the word is that it harkend back to CoB's 'Follow The Reaper' era. For 'Hexed' they returned to Finland's Danger Johnny Studios where CoB was reunited with longtime friend and producer Mikko Karmila, who produced some of their bestselling albums including "Hatebreeder", "Follow The Reaper" and "Hate Crew Deathroll".

There has also been a confirmation that two music videos will be out in the run-up to the album, but there's no official word on when we can expect them. 

Bassist Henkka Blacksmith spoke about how in an oddd sense, the album goes back to an earlier era while moving forward at the same time. 

"For me, it has always been very hard to describe our new music. In a way it always feels familiar, but the new stuff also always surprises me," Blacksmith says of the new album. "Here we have something that’s very Bodom, but somehow we haven’t done this kind of stuff maybe ever. Then again, someone said that there’s somehow similar vibe to what Follow the Reaper had. I don’t know."

He also admits that the band had a tough time choosing the right singles for the aforementioned visual treatment. The band has kept things pretty close to the chest and haven’t revealed too many details on what fans can expect from 'Hexed', but their massive army of longtime fans (poplarly referred to as the "Hate Crew") are definitely creating a huge buzz and we could have the lead single dropping before the year is done and dusted.

Meanwhile, take a look at the tracklisting for the album and the album art below, which again features the Grim Reaper, a recurring motif in the melo-death legends' artwork.


Tracklist for Children of Bodom's 'Hexed':

01. The Road
02. Under Grass and Clover
03. Glass Houses
04. Hecate’s Nightmare
05. Kick in the Spleen
06. Platitudes and Barren Words
07. Hexed
08. Relapse (The Nature of My Crime)
09. Say Never Look Back
10. Soon Departed
11. Knuckleduster
12. I Worship Chaos (live)
13. Morrigan (live)
14. Knuckleduster (remix)