Animal Collective announce new audiovisual album 'Tangerine Reef', drop video for lead single 'Hair Cutter'

The experimental pop outfit Animal Collective's follow up to 2016's 'Painting With' is an environmentally minded project in collaboration with art-science duo Coral Morphologic

                            Animal Collective announce new audiovisual album 'Tangerine Reef', drop video for lead single 'Hair Cutter'
The Animal Collective (Source : Getty Images)

Confirming recent rumors about a new record, Animal Collective has officially announced details of their self-described “audiovisual album” 'Tangerine Reef'. Due on August 17, the aptly titled 'Tangerine Reef' is a collaboration with “avant-garde coral macro-videography” art-science duo Coral Morphologic (comprised of marine biologist Colin Foord and musician Jared McKay) to commemorate the 2018 International Year of the Reef.

Animal Collective members Avey Tare, Deakin, and Geologist (but not Panda Bear) worked on the 13-track double LP, and the album is reportedly a nearly decade-long collaboration between the two groups.

Curiously enough, but not uncommonly for the Baltimore-based experimental pop outfit, Tangerine Reef's B-side is a full-length film described in a press release as “a visual tone poem consisting of time-lapse and slow pans across surreal aquascapes of naturally fluorescent coral and cameos by alien-like reef creatures”. The video is set to premiere on the same day as the album release via the band's My Animal Home website. So the second half of the album is basically an oceanic, coral 'animal collective'. Nice touch!

As Consequence of Sound notes, 'Tangerine Reef' is the culmination of several collaborative projects between Animal Collective and Coral Morphologic. Geologist soundtracked Coral Morphologic’s 2011 short film 'Man O War', while Colin Foord delivered the spoken word intro for Avey Tare’s 2017 track 'Coral Lords'. That same year, the band and the art-science duo also worked together on a live performance called 'Coral Orgy' (It's not what you think it is. It's way better!). 'Tangerine Reef' actually premiered as a live set at the New York edition of David Lynch’s Festival of Disruption.

'Tangerine Reef' is Animal Collective’s first full-length release since 2016'’s 'Painting With' and first release in general since 2017's environmentally-minded 'Meeting of the Waters' EP. Pre-orders for a limited edition color double-vinyl version are going on at the Animal Collective Domino Mart store.

As a preview of this latest joint effort, the John McSwain and Coral Morphologic-directed video for the opening track 'Hair Cutter' has been shared exclusively via Apple Music. Others can get a sneak peek via the album trailer below. Spotify subscribers can listen to the full track below. Also check out the full tracklisting for 'Tangerine Reef'.

Tangerine Reef Tracklist:
01. Hair Cutter
02. Buffalo Tomato
03. Inspector Gadget
04. Buxom
05. Coral Understanding
06. Airpipe (To A New Transition)
07. Jake And Me
08. Coral By Numbers
09. Hip Sponge
10. Coral Realization
11. Lundsten Coral
12. Palythoa
13. Best Of Times (Worst Of All)