Ward Thomas release lead track 'Lie Like Me' from upcoming album 'Restless Minds'

Ward Thomas's new album 'Restless Minds' is a collection of 15 songs written in London, Nashville and Hampshire, and the single 'Lie Like Me' resonates a uniwue sound.

                            Ward Thomas release lead track 'Lie Like Me' from upcoming album 'Restless Minds'
Ward Thomas (Source: Getty Images)

Ward Thomas, the band featuring 24-year-old identical twin sisters - Catherine and Lizzy - will release their most anticipated new album, 'Restless Minds', on October 5 on WTW Music/ Sony Music. The lead track of the album, 'Lie Like Me', is available today onward on all platforms. Illustrious in its own way, the lead single is certainly a unique piece of music which resonates a restless mood.

'Restless Minds' is the follow up to their No.1 charting major label debut ‘Cartwheels’ which was released in 2016. It  firmly established Ward Thomas as leading exponents of a new wave country-tinged pop. “We never consciously tried to be country,” Lizzy says. “We love country but we’ve always set out to simply write songs that suit the content. The country artists we listen to now are the ones mixing it up and moving the genre on – Maren Morris and Kacey Musgraves in particular. But we also love Lorde, Cardi B, Haim and Julia Michaels.”

Their new album which is now available to pre-order incorporates all these influences and that is what creates the sound of 'Restless Minds.' A sprawling 15 song collection written in Nashville, London, and Hampshire with previous collaborators Jessica Sharman, Rebekah Powell and Martin Terefe (Shawn Mendes) in addition to Ed Drewitt (Little Mix), Rachel Furner (Craig David) and Steve Robson (Paloma Faith). The album was produced in London by Martin Terefe and Joe Rubel (Ed Sheeran).

Lyrically the twins have tackled issues close to their hearts, including pertinent observations on social media, the women’s movement, what ‘the truth’ means in 2018 and mental health. “As soon as we started writing the album, it became obvious what the themes would be,” says Catherine. “We were discussing current issues for us as
twentysomethings, in a world that’s scary because it’s changing so quickly, but is also creating lots of exciting, new opportunities.”

New single ‘Lie Like Me’ is a biting indictment of lives faked online, accompanied by a deceptively sweet, flirtatiously upbeat musical track. It’s totally Ward Thomas circa 2018 and effortlessly showcases their confidence and swagger.

Other highlights on this sonically bold album include ‘No Filter,' which like the rest of the album never stands still, all dreamy piano and percussive electronics and the harmonic twang of the super catchy ‘Same Love.' 

1. No Filter
2. Lie Like Me
3. One More Goodbye
4. It’s Not Just Me
5. Ain’t That Easy
6. Rather Be Breathing
7. Hopeless
8. Never Know
9. Same Love
10. Changing
11. No Fooling Me
12. I Believe In You
13. Little Girl Sorrow
14. Deepest You
15. This Too Will Pass