How many 'Law and Order' series are there?

How many 'Law and Order' series are there?
Cast of the original 'Law & Order' cast (NBC)

With 'Law & Order: SVU' set to premiere with Season 24 later this week (September 22), NBC's most decorated franchise adds one more season to its already extensive list of shows and spin-offs. The crime drama created by Dick Wold has spawned multiple pieces of content after starting off with 'Law & Order' that make for well over 1,000 hours of programming.

For those who are new to the franchise, there are seven shows in the 'Law & Order' franchise. Adding to that are five TV-to-video game adaptations and four foreign adaptations that further highlight the quality and the success the shows have seen over the last two decades.


How many seasons of 'Law & Order: Special Victims Unit'?

'Law & Order' Season 21 Episode 1 Review: NBC crime drama still feels like comfort food

How many 'Law & Order' series are there?

Of the seven series the franchise has greenlit over the years, 'Law & Order', 'Law & Order: SVU', and 'Law & Order: Organized Crime' are currently running on NBC. The previous series that were completed include — 'Law & Order: Criminal Intent', 'Law & Order: Trial by Jury', 'Law & Order: LA', and 'Law & Order True Crime'. While the OG show and SVU have seen 21 and 23 seasons respectively, 'Organized Crime' is relatively new with just two seasons aired since April 2021

In addition to the shows, there were enough game adaptations as well. 'Law & Order: Dead on the Money', 'Law & Order: Double or Nothing', 'Law & Order: Justice Is Served', 'Law & Order: Criminal Intent', and 'Law & Order: Legacies' were all based on the concept of crime investigation and interrogating the witness. When it comes to foreign adaptations, 'Law & Order: UK' is regarded as one of the hit shows. Starring Bradley Walsh, Harriet Walter, Freema Agyeman, Jamie Bamber, and Dominic Rowan, the show premiered in 2009.

Per Ranker, the synopsis read, "This British adaptation of Law & Order doesn't follow the character's personal lives, instead prioritizing major plots about investigations and prosecutions. Like its American counterpart, the series features a police portion and a trial portion each episode."

 'Law & Order: SVU' airs September 22 along with 'Law & Order: Organized Crime' Season 3 and 'Law & Order' reboot.

Share this article:  How many 'Law and Order' series are there